Wednesday, March 21, 2018

How to teach puppies not to bite?

Biting is a natural thing for puppies. Teeth and mouth are their primary tools which they use every day. Also, biting is a common for them as they grow up and they may use it for interaction with their siblings.
However, as cute as this sounds, biting can become a problem once puppy grows up a bit. Their teeth become longer, stronger and can inflict real damage. This is why dog owner has to teach its pet how to properly behave.
Biting can especially be a problem when around other people so in order to suppress this behavior, make sure to follow our simple tips by!

Stop playing with a puppy

As previously mentioned, biting is a normal part of playing. On certain occasions, one puppy may bite the other puppy. When this happens, the other puppy will yelp which makes the first one release its grip.
This usually doesn’t happen with people as we allow puppies to bite us without complaint. In order for puppy to understand that this behavior is not acceptable, you need to yelp whenever a puppy bites you. If a puppy continues, your best bet is to completely ignore it and stop playing with it.
You have to create a negative stimulation so that a puppy stops such behavior in future.

Find a way to distract a puppy

Like babies, puppies are fascinated by almost anything within their reach. Whenever puppy starts behaving badly (whether we’re talking about biting or something else) you can distract it by providing something else to chew on.
Toys and other items can easily be used for this purpose. You can also start whistling or singing or doing something else that will quickly get its attention. In these situations, puppies tend to get confused, they start listening and will ultimately forget about biting.

Remove the stimuli

This is another trick that is used for various puppy trainings and modifications of behavior.
By simply not having anything to bite or chew, puppy will stop doing it. As simple as that. In most cases, puppy will try to grab hold of your hand. All you have to do in such situation is to remove it and not allow puppy to grab you. If it tries again, move it back again. When it finally stops, try playing with it normally.

Using special products

If you want to prevent puppy from biting specific things (mainly your hands), you can use various products that are meant to leave a bad taste in mouth.
Most of these products also have a specific smell. Once a puppy bites your hand and has this sense in its mouth for the first time, it will quickly realize that smell and taste are connected. In future, pupill not even try biting things that smell this way.

Remove puppy from sight

If puppy continues to bite regardless of your best efforts, try something a bit more drastic.
Puppy learn the best from a positive or a negative experience. If puppy continues biting people and stuff in your home, you can simply take it outside and put it in a kennel. Even if you’re in an apartment, you should have a separate secluded area where puppy will “serve its sentence”.
One of the worst things for a puppy is not being able to socialize and be part of your family. While this may seem a bit extreme it may prove to be a valuable trick for unruly pups.

There you go! With these simple tips you’ll surely teach your puppy how not to bite!

Thursday, March 8, 2018

Sleep Zzz Pillow - Review Coming Soon

Introducing the Sleep Zzz Pillow from the makers the Twin Z Pillow as Seen on ABC's show Shark Tank! The Sleep Zzz Pillow is a kids sleep pillow (ages 3 and up) that surrounds your child with the snuggly softness and security of their very own body pillow sized perfectly for them! This pillow helps kids fall asleep faster and most importantly STAY asleep providing a more restful nights sleep for your child and you! Everyone wins!

I will be reviewing Sleep Zzz Pillow soon. In the meantime, save $5 off your Sleep Zzz Pillow purchase and enjoy a more restful nights sleep for the whole family! Use Code: SLEEPY

Sunday, March 4, 2018

The top 4 tips to consider when looking for a nursery in Finchley

When it comes to choosing the right childcare, there has to be a lot of careful steps to be considered. After all, we all need a safe and secure community where our children can start learning and encourage them to be ready for their future. Finding the right nursery of your choice takes time and effort. Everyone is advised to do advance research and prior inquiries before giving a final decision. That being said, a lot of people may think that choosing between the numbers of nurseries in Finchley may be a daunting task, but it doesn't have to be.

Here are 4 tips to consider when looking for a nursery.

1. Know the school's policies.

Every education institution has a different set of rules and policies implemented for the betterment of their reputation as well as the discipline it provides to their students. These rules and policies include how discipline is given, how staff relates to the kids, and how attendance is imposed. Make sure to know in advance or grab a copy of these rules and policies so you will know what you are getting into. Most institutions keep a copy of this so parent and guardians can ensure that all of them are being followed.

2. Check the school's qualifications and licenses.

The nursery of your choice must have qualified staff to handle little children. Always make sure to check the status of the nursery's licenses as well as the qualifications and credentials of the staff. You should check if the nursery is run by professionals and fully-equipped educators who are well-trained in their fields. Otherwise, we may only be leaving our children at the care of babysitters. We want our children to have the best education and training in their formative years so it is only fitting that we know that they are being taught by qualified professionals.

3. Check if the nursery has great facilities.

A good nursery is equipped with state-of-the-art facilities. Nursery school is different from other educational institutions mainly because little children need facilities in order to start their learning. Nurseries need excellent playing facilities considering that children at this stage are more interested in playing. Even so, these are helpful to children to know more about life. There should be a number of educational toys that they can utilize indoors and outdoors every day. Your child also deserves to be able to take advantage of a great facility where they can have the best and memorable learning experience. Know beforehand if the nursery has tons of resources and great facilities that can accommodate to your child's need.

4. Learn how they communicate with parents and guardians.

Parents and guardians want to know about their children's experience and progress as much as possible. Great communication is extremely important when it comes to choosing a nursery because your children need people whom they can easily communicate with. Considering all of the above, this will give you a sign that you can easily chat with them if any issue arises in the future.

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Beautiful Hair Hack with Black Hairspray

*This is a sponsored post on behalf of Black Hairspray. All opinions are 100% my own.*

Most of you know that I love beauty/fashion. I especially love hair products, since my hair is my only real asset. While I always get compliments for the length of my hair, it is also sometimes a drawback. I am so invested in it, that I dread the thought of cutting it, but that sort of limits my style options. I can never sport a short style. At least, not without a little help.

That's where Black Hairspray comes in. Not only do they have a great selection of hair products, like conditioners and styling products, they even have makeup and nail products, but that's not all. They have tons of weaves, Remy hair, braids, and gorgeous wigs! The have Lace Front Wigs, full wigs and half wigs.

Half Wigs are great because you blend them in with your real hair, making them look more more natural when worn. They add volume, color, style, without looking like it's just sitting on your head. They are also more comfortable that traditional wigs.

I love the idea of half wigs, because, with my hair being so long, it is not feasible to have it all tucked under a wig cap without looking way too tall and lumpy on my head. It would not look natural at all. And even if by some miracle it worked, it would certainly be hot and uncomfortable.

The Black Hairspray half wigs are all so gorgeous. I especially love the curly ones. I don't know how well I can get them to work for me, since for curly ones, you have to curl your real hair to match, and I'm not great at that, but if I can get a look anything like the ones on their site, it would be so worth the effort. I guess I'll let you all know how it goes once I try it.

Friday, January 26, 2018


1. Get enough sleep

Getting a good night’s rest is guaranteed to improve the quality of life of an individual. This is due to the fact that getting enough sleep has been proven to improve one’s immunity which will help the body fight against diseases. Sleep helps one reduce chronic pain in different joints in the body. Getting enough sleep enables an individual to be a whole lot more productive and energetic at work due to lack of fatigue. Enough rest will consequently help an individual to avoid minor or major accidents as sleep helps the brain to be more active and alert.

2. Drink water

Water is an integral part of our daily diet as it helps in the proper working of many of our body organs and various bodily functions and activities. For instance, water aids in the absorption of nutrients from the fluids and food we ingest. This helps to improve our health since our bodies acquire all the vitamins and energy they need. Water keeps us hydrated and helps in the proper circulation of oxygen and blood all around our bodies and brain. This helps to keep us active and feeling energetic.

3. Eat healthily

One major way to live a healthy life is to maintain a healthy diet. This is a balanced diet that consists of fruit, vegetables, carbohydrates to keep your energy up as well as proteins that help in building up various cells of the body. A healthy diet plays a very vital role in what we eat and drink since it directly translates to the state of our bodies, our mental health as well as our emotional well-being. Eating well also boosts an individual’s self-confidence as it helps one have a healthier confidence based on an improved physical appearance. This is due to the fact that eating healthy helps to improve various aspects of our physical appearance such as our skin and hair.

4. Use supplements

In addition to maintaining a healthy diet, one can use supplements in order to boost their immunity. Supplements help to improve your life since they contain various nutrients, vitamins and minerals that boost your health. They are an easy way to ensure that your body gets all the love and care that it needs through the extra nutrients that supplements offer in addition to those an individual gets from their regular diet. Moreover, for those looking to lose weight, supplements also aid in that. One such example of a supplement is the maxfit garcinia that helps an individual to lose weight and acquire the desired body mass.

5. Exercise
One of the best ways to live a healthy life is to regularly engage in exercise. Exercising helps to keep our bodies in shape and also boosts our self-confidence due to the factor of being fit and feeling great about it. Moreover, exercising daily helps to keep various diseases at bay such stroke, diabetes, high blood pressure and heart disease. It also helps to improve an individual’s body posture. Overall, exercising a lot will generally help one to live a happier, healthier, longer life.

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

How Much Does a Man's Age Matter for His Fertility, Really?

Women have been told for years, more like decades, that it is best they have their babies before they reach 35, or by 35 years of age at the latest. But the reality is that many women have healthy babies after the age of 35, and many women have given birth to their own biological babies (as opposed to using egg donors) even in their late 40’s.

However, as far as fertility being an issue for older men, there are not enough studies to confirm whether fertility becomes an issue for older men or not, though it is believed that male fertility may start declining after the age of 40. After all, men make sperm until the day they die – unlike women, who are born with all the eggs they will ever have and those are generally depleted by their 40’s. So female fertility after 40 is scientifically drastically reduced.

While women over 35 who are pregnant are thrown into the category as geriatric maternal age (which doesn’t sound very nice!), the label is due to the fact that there are known risks for older women who do get pregnant for reasons mentioned previously.

Even though it is not overly clear whether male fertility does decline as the man ages, again reproductive endocrinologists advise men to have kids before they are 40 because it is believed that sperm quality may decline as men age. Even though there are many older men such as Hugh Hefner who was 65 when his youngest son was born, as well as Donald Trump, and George Clooney being in his 50’s when his twins were born, it is not recommended that men wait that long to become fathers.

In fact many reproductive endocrinologists believe that if men father children in their 60’s and 70’s, there are higher rates of birth defects as well. It is simply because as men age, their bodies become more frail no matter how well they take care of themselves, and the same would apply to their reproductive systems.

However, the reason that men remain fertile much longer than women is because sperm is constantly regenerating every 3 months, whereas women are born with a number of follicles which are immature eggs. Therefore, once girls reach puberty, many eggs end up dying off in the process. And every time women get their periods, more eggs are lost as well. The older women get, the fewer eggs they have, and as they age, the quality of eggs goes down as well.

However, at the same time in regards to male fertility is concerned being tied to age, the concentration of sperm may reduce as the man ages. The actual semen volume that men produce can decrease as well when men get older. In addition to the fact that the sperm may swim slower and may have poor shape as the man becomes older so that definitely has a negative impact on male infertility. If men are taking medications as well for high blood pressure or diabetes, that will certainly have a negative impact on male fertility, as well as sex drive. However, a 20-year old man may have to take medication that can affect his fertility and he will be facing the same issues as well.

There has also been some recent research conducted which has found that there is a small chance that if a man over the age of 45 fathers children, the odds of having children with conditions such as psychosis, schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, and autism are slightly higher. However, the research conducted on that is so new that the cause of these issues have not been found other than the correlation between the father’s age and the risks for their children to develop these disorders.

That alone should not frighten men away from fathering children if they are in their 40’s. Many men want to build their careers in their 20’s and 30’s before they settle down and start a family. Therefore, plenty of men are fathering children in their 40’s and their kids turn out just fine.

There is still more of a risk for women getting pregnant over 35, even more so over 40 than men fathering children in their 40’s and even 50’s. Fair or not, it is what it is. But it doesn’t mean it can’t be done, but it needs to be done more with caution.

Both men and women who are planning to become parents at an advanced age can always take excellent care of themselves and develop methods to increase their fertility. Both will be more fertile even at an older age if they get their weight down (or up) to an acceptable level, kick bad habits such as smoking, drinking, doing drugs and drinking more than 1 cup of coffee a day.

They can also take vitamins, herbs and eat foods that are rich in fertility enhancing nutrients such as Omega 3’s and zinc. Women must always take folic acid before getting pregnant as well and continuing to take it in the early stages of pregnancy.

Men and women who plan on becoming parents at an older age must visit the doctor before even considering it to know about what possible risks they could face, and assess their health before giving them the green light.

Doctors will likely need a sperm sample from older men in order to assess the count and quality of the sperm. If the sperm quality and count is normal even in a healthy man who is older than 40, then odds are they will produce healthy offspring.

To sum up, because it is known that as men (and women) age, health will decline due to that. As a result, fertility will be impacted to a degree for a man. And it is known that older men have a slightly higher risk of producing offspring with some mental disorders. However, it is still unknown how much a man’s fertility is impacted as a whole as he ages since there is still not enough evidence to support these studies as of yet.

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Holiday Gift Guide - My Little Veterinarian Kit

Do you have a little caregiver at home? I do. My little girl loves animals. She is always asking for one kind of pet or another and sticks like glue to any animal she comes into contact with. She is a "helper" too. Always trying to take care of people and things.

I recently found a great line of toy kits for her. My Little Medical School has 3 awesome kits. My Little Sports Medicine Kit, My Little Pediatrician Kit, and My Little Veterinarian  Kit. For my little animal lover, I chose the My Little Veterinarian Kit. She has mentioned wanting to be a vet when she grows up, so I know it would be perfect.

 The kit is so cute. It has a doggy patient, a workbook, a diploma, patient assessment forms, adoption certificate, glove, tweezers, tick stickers, dough and mold to make dog treats, a lab coat and more. I love all the content. It seems very thorough for a toy.

As expected, my little girl loves this kit. I love that it all fits inside the box it came in. It is sturdy and has a Velcro closure, so it works great for storing this set, and I know it will hold up for awhile.My daughter just cares about how much fun it is. And it did not disappoint.

She played with it for over 2 hours in one sitting. And she plays with it every day. She also keeps the doggy with her, pretty much at all times. It sleeps in her bed with her and she drops it off at "school" in the morning before she goes to school. 

I'm really glad the coat fits her. I was worried about that. My MIL got her a doctor kit like 2 years ago, and she was (already at that time) way too big for it. Some many play costumes are very small. This set is recommended for ages 6+ and she is 6 (and big for her age), she still has some room, so that is great.

In addition to the darling medical kits, My Little Medical School also sells an awesome helmet, the Brain Hat-ter. And it is designed like it sounds. It looks like a colorful model of the brain. So unique and fun.

Unfortunately, neither one of my kiddos knows how to ride a bike just yet, mostly for lack of anywhere safe nearby to ride. But they get taught bike safety and riding in PE at school and they bring a helmet for that. Both of them want this one, but my son has a larger head, and this seems to fit him better, so he got it. It is so cute that if I had a bike I would have kept it.

We are loving these products from My Little Medical School. I am probably going to get the other 2 kits, one for each kiddo, for Christmas. If you have a child that wants to help others/animals I highly recommend these kits.

*Although I received these items at no cost to facilitate my review, all opinions are 100% my own.*