Friday, January 26, 2018

5 TIPS TO LIVING A HEALTHIER LIFE

1. Get enough sleep

Getting a good night’s rest is guaranteed to improve the quality of life of an individual. This is due to the fact that getting enough sleep has been proven to improve one’s immunity which will help the body fight against diseases. Sleep helps one reduce chronic pain in different joints in the body. Getting enough sleep enables an individual to be a whole lot more productive and energetic at work due to lack of fatigue. Enough rest will consequently help an individual to avoid minor or major accidents as sleep helps the brain to be more active and alert.

2. Drink water

Water is an integral part of our daily diet as it helps in the proper working of many of our body organs and various bodily functions and activities. For instance, water aids in the absorption of nutrients from the fluids and food we ingest. This helps to improve our health since our bodies acquire all the vitamins and energy they need. Water keeps us hydrated and helps in the proper circulation of oxygen and blood all around our bodies and brain. This helps to keep us active and feeling energetic.

3. Eat healthily

One major way to live a healthy life is to maintain a healthy diet. This is a balanced diet that consists of fruit, vegetables, carbohydrates to keep your energy up as well as proteins that help in building up various cells of the body. A healthy diet plays a very vital role in what we eat and drink since it directly translates to the state of our bodies, our mental health as well as our emotional well-being. Eating well also boosts an individual’s self-confidence as it helps one have a healthier confidence based on an improved physical appearance. This is due to the fact that eating healthy helps to improve various aspects of our physical appearance such as our skin and hair.

4. Use supplements

In addition to maintaining a healthy diet, one can use supplements in order to boost their immunity. Supplements help to improve your life since they contain various nutrients, vitamins and minerals that boost your health. They are an easy way to ensure that your body gets all the love and care that it needs through the extra nutrients that supplements offer in addition to those an individual gets from their regular diet. Moreover, for those looking to lose weight, supplements also aid in that. One such example of a supplement is the maxfit garcinia that helps an individual to lose weight and acquire the desired body mass.

5. Exercise
One of the best ways to live a healthy life is to regularly engage in exercise. Exercising helps to keep our bodies in shape and also boosts our self-confidence due to the factor of being fit and feeling great about it. Moreover, exercising daily helps to keep various diseases at bay such stroke, diabetes, high blood pressure and heart disease. It also helps to improve an individual’s body posture. Overall, exercising a lot will generally help one to live a happier, healthier, longer life.

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

How Much Does a Man's Age Matter for His Fertility, Really?

Women have been told for years, more like decades, that it is best they have their babies before they reach 35, or by 35 years of age at the latest. But the reality is that many women have healthy babies after the age of 35, and many women have given birth to their own biological babies (as opposed to using egg donors) even in their late 40’s.

However, as far as fertility being an issue for older men, there are not enough studies to confirm whether fertility becomes an issue for older men or not, though it is believed that male fertility may start declining after the age of 40. After all, men make sperm until the day they die – unlike women, who are born with all the eggs they will ever have and those are generally depleted by their 40’s. So female fertility after 40 is scientifically drastically reduced.

While women over 35 who are pregnant are thrown into the category as geriatric maternal age (which doesn’t sound very nice!), the label is due to the fact that there are known risks for older women who do get pregnant for reasons mentioned previously.

Even though it is not overly clear whether male fertility does decline as the man ages, again reproductive endocrinologists advise men to have kids before they are 40 because it is believed that sperm quality may decline as men age. Even though there are many older men such as Hugh Hefner who was 65 when his youngest son was born, as well as Donald Trump, and George Clooney being in his 50’s when his twins were born, it is not recommended that men wait that long to become fathers.

In fact many reproductive endocrinologists believe that if men father children in their 60’s and 70’s, there are higher rates of birth defects as well. It is simply because as men age, their bodies become more frail no matter how well they take care of themselves, and the same would apply to their reproductive systems.

However, the reason that men remain fertile much longer than women is because sperm is constantly regenerating every 3 months, whereas women are born with a number of follicles which are immature eggs. Therefore, once girls reach puberty, many eggs end up dying off in the process. And every time women get their periods, more eggs are lost as well. The older women get, the fewer eggs they have, and as they age, the quality of eggs goes down as well.

However, at the same time in regards to male fertility is concerned being tied to age, the concentration of sperm may reduce as the man ages. The actual semen volume that men produce can decrease as well when men get older. In addition to the fact that the sperm may swim slower and may have poor shape as the man becomes older so that definitely has a negative impact on male infertility. If men are taking medications as well for high blood pressure or diabetes, that will certainly have a negative impact on male fertility, as well as sex drive. However, a 20-year old man may have to take medication that can affect his fertility and he will be facing the same issues as well.

There has also been some recent research conducted which has found that there is a small chance that if a man over the age of 45 fathers children, the odds of having children with conditions such as psychosis, schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, and autism are slightly higher. However, the research conducted on that is so new that the cause of these issues have not been found other than the correlation between the father’s age and the risks for their children to develop these disorders.

That alone should not frighten men away from fathering children if they are in their 40’s. Many men want to build their careers in their 20’s and 30’s before they settle down and start a family. Therefore, plenty of men are fathering children in their 40’s and their kids turn out just fine.

There is still more of a risk for women getting pregnant over 35, even more so over 40 than men fathering children in their 40’s and even 50’s. Fair or not, it is what it is. But it doesn’t mean it can’t be done, but it needs to be done more with caution.

Both men and women who are planning to become parents at an advanced age can always take excellent care of themselves and develop methods to increase their fertility. Both will be more fertile even at an older age if they get their weight down (or up) to an acceptable level, kick bad habits such as smoking, drinking, doing drugs and drinking more than 1 cup of coffee a day.

They can also take vitamins, herbs and eat foods that are rich in fertility enhancing nutrients such as Omega 3’s and zinc. Women must always take folic acid before getting pregnant as well and continuing to take it in the early stages of pregnancy.

Men and women who plan on becoming parents at an older age must visit the doctor before even considering it to know about what possible risks they could face, and assess their health before giving them the green light.

Doctors will likely need a sperm sample from older men in order to assess the count and quality of the sperm. If the sperm quality and count is normal even in a healthy man who is older than 40, then odds are they will produce healthy offspring.

To sum up, because it is known that as men (and women) age, health will decline due to that. As a result, fertility will be impacted to a degree for a man. And it is known that older men have a slightly higher risk of producing offspring with some mental disorders. However, it is still unknown how much a man’s fertility is impacted as a whole as he ages since there is still not enough evidence to support these studies as of yet.

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Holiday Gift Guide - My Little Veterinarian Kit

Do you have a little caregiver at home? I do. My little girl loves animals. She is always asking for one kind of pet or another and sticks like glue to any animal she comes into contact with. She is a "helper" too. Always trying to take care of people and things.

I recently found a great line of toy kits for her. My Little Medical School has 3 awesome kits. My Little Sports Medicine Kit, My Little Pediatrician Kit, and My Little Veterinarian  Kit. For my little animal lover, I chose the My Little Veterinarian Kit. She has mentioned wanting to be a vet when she grows up, so I know it would be perfect.

 The kit is so cute. It has a doggy patient, a workbook, a diploma, patient assessment forms, adoption certificate, glove, tweezers, tick stickers, dough and mold to make dog treats, a lab coat and more. I love all the content. It seems very thorough for a toy.



As expected, my little girl loves this kit. I love that it all fits inside the box it came in. It is sturdy and has a Velcro closure, so it works great for storing this set, and I know it will hold up for awhile.My daughter just cares about how much fun it is. And it did not disappoint.

She played with it for over 2 hours in one sitting. And she plays with it every day. She also keeps the doggy with her, pretty much at all times. It sleeps in her bed with her and she drops it off at "school" in the morning before she goes to school. 




I'm really glad the coat fits her. I was worried about that. My MIL got her a doctor kit like 2 years ago, and she was (already at that time) way too big for it. Some many play costumes are very small. This set is recommended for ages 6+ and she is 6 (and big for her age), she still has some room, so that is great.

In addition to the darling medical kits, My Little Medical School also sells an awesome helmet, the Brain Hat-ter. And it is designed like it sounds. It looks like a colorful model of the brain. So unique and fun.


Unfortunately, neither one of my kiddos knows how to ride a bike just yet, mostly for lack of anywhere safe nearby to ride. But they get taught bike safety and riding in PE at school and they bring a helmet for that. Both of them want this one, but my son has a larger head, and this seems to fit him better, so he got it. It is so cute that if I had a bike I would have kept it.

We are loving these products from My Little Medical School. I am probably going to get the other 2 kits, one for each kiddo, for Christmas. If you have a child that wants to help others/animals I highly recommend these kits.

*Although I received these items at no cost to facilitate my review, all opinions are 100% my own.*

Monday, December 11, 2017

7 Ways to keep our skin soft and youthful

Every woman wants to have and maintain a fair and youthful appearance. The skin is one of those body parts that indicate your health and vitality. With age comes the formation of wrinkles and other signs of aging like skin sagging. Most people, however, would prefer to maintain a youthful look and appearance as they age.

It is better to find ways on how to keep and maintain a soft, youthful skin instead of waiting for wrinkles and sagging to occur before rushing to get skin care treatments from dermatologists which might be costly. Below are some of the ways that you can maintain a clear, soft skin.

1. Large water intake

A well-hydrated skin is firm and smooth. Water makes up a large percentage of the skin and by drinking plenty of water; you’ll be maintaining a healthy and younger look. Soft drink like sodas and fruit juices can be drunk, but water is the best option because it’s natural and hydrates the body more. Soft drinks might contain might be harmful to your health when consumed in large amounts and frequently. Take an average of eight glasses or more on a daily basis to maintain a hydrated skin.

2. Use a moisturizer

Moisturizers hydrate the skin and boost the production of collagen and elastin, which maintain a firm skin. You can purchase a moisturizer depending on your skin type, whether it’s dry or oily skin.

You can also purchase ointments like Aphrodite cream to increase hydration and improve your skin elasticity. Placing a humidifier in your room when you are sleeping is also a great option. It would humidify your face while you are sleeping.

3. Use an Exfoliator

Exfoliation removes the topmost layer of the skin, speeding up the repair and collagen production. The exfoliator should contain natural components and lack chemicals. Exfoliate your skin at least twice a week using a soft piece of cloth. Exfoliation leaves the skin feeling and looking radiant and healthy.

4. Wash your face regularly

Excess dirt and oil on your face can lead to acne and the formation of firm lines, wrinkles and even cause bacterial infections. Wash your face before sleeping at night using a mild cleanser gently. This cleanses the skin leaving the pores open. If you have makeup on, use a cotton ball to remove the makeup before rinsing off your face.

5. Massage

Massage your face on a daily basis to boost the production of collagen. Massaging can be on the face or entire body and it stimulates the lymph gland resulting in a clear skin.

6. Avoid or Limit Sun Exposure

Collagen and elastin fibers are broken down by the effect of harsh sun rays making them less functional leading to skin sagging. The sun is good for your skin but avoid overexposure which can lead to wrinkle formation due to the ultraviolet rays. Use a sunscreen or wear a hat when it’s too sunny to reduce the effects of the sun rays.

7. Don’t pop your pimples

Popping pimples that are not yet ready is a bad move since it might enlarge pores as well as lead to the formation of scars and spots that might be difficult to remove later on.

A clear, soft and youthful skin boosts one’s confidence. Work towards maintaining a healthy skin all the time.

Friday, December 1, 2017

Holiday Gift Guide - Strictly Briks

This year has just flown by. Now it is time for holiday shopping and planning. I LOVE to buy gifts, and I generally start early and buy what I can when I can, since I don't always have money to spend. As much as I love getting gifts in general, choosing gifts for my son is practically impossible.

I love my boy to death, he is the sweetest kid you'll ever meet. He's thankful for any gift he gets, but with his autism, he tends to stick to very few activities. Mostly drawing, and using the iPad/computer. There is not much to do with that for gifting, since he already has his own computer and 2 iPads. But I can't just get him fewer gifts than everyone else.

When I ask him what he wants, he asks for food items that no longer exist or are from other countries (things he would never even taste anyway.) I get him books and DVDs and art supplies, and then I just have to wing it and hope he likes what I pick.

The things I've always had the best luck with are building toys. But that is a double-edged sword. He likes them usually and will use them, but many varieties have hundreds of tiny pieces that get everywhere and end up getting lost (or chewed, which is something he needs to stop doing.) Some sets are made to include every piece or they don't work correctly. Making the useless when pieces inevitably get lost.

With my son, I like things that can help him open his mind and create his own ideas. He is already good at copying from examples (instructions), so something more open is actually more out of his comfort zone, which is great.

So I said all that to say this, I found a great building toy line: Strictly Briks. These are similar to other bricks on the market, but Strictly Briks have some wonderful pieces, like base plates, that I have not really seen from other brands. Also, they have silicone sets, which are really cool, and much less painful if stepped on.


My kids share, but I basically got the Big Briks set for my son and the Silicone Straps for my daughter. Of course, she was the first to open both. She always has to be first, especially for something exciting like this. (She pounces on me every time I get a package to try to see what it is before I even have a chance.)


She loves both kits, but as expected, the silicone strap kit was her favorite, because she could make it into a bracelet. Plus, that color scheme is just so adorable. My son was not far behind to join in the fun.


That's when the real fun started, since he helped her build buildings. They were making a city, they said. He explained it to me, how there were roads and an office and skyscraper. It was so sweet. Even funnier is when Little Bit chimed in and was trying to elaborate on his explanation. She does that often but usually does not even fully understand what was going on, so her explanation is unrelated.

Anyway. They had tons of fun with these from the first day they got them. They still play with them regularly, though not together for the most part. I think that is more of a timing thing than not wanting to share. They just do their own things sometimes.

The quality of these Strictly Briks sets is top notch. They are very well made, thick and durable, but not too clunky. Whereas the silicone ones are also very thick and well made, while being soft and pliable. The colors are vibrant and fun. The selection of sizes is very good. So many sets have way too many small blocks and not enough larger ones. These have a nice balance.



I plan to expand their Strictly Briks collection for Christmas. One (well a few) less gifts for me to guess and stress over for my dear son. At least I already know he'll like it, and it's something that will last for years, and even be donated when they are done.

And if my humble opinion is not enough reason to have confidence in Strictly Briks, perhaps the fact that they have won 29 awards in only 6 weeks will help. They were also featured on the The Today Show in the Black Friday Toys Spot. This kind of achievement is relatively unheard of for such a new company.

Have you heard of Strictly Briks yet? What do you think? How would you compare them to other kinds of building blocks? Are you planning to buy any building toys this holiday season? If so, who for and what do you have in mind? I would love to discuss this in the comments. I enjoy sharing ideas and getting advice.

*Although I received these items at no cost to facilitate a review, all opinions are 100% my own.*

Sunday, November 19, 2017

Holiday Gift Guide - Jord Watches. Win a $100 Jord Gift Card!

Having trouble finding a gift for the person that has everything? Looking for a practical gift that is also unique and stylish? Jord is sure to have the perfect thing. Their wood watches are so striking. They are works of art, created by artists, designers. They are sure to make a statement, both when received as a gift, and every time they are worn.

They come in a gorgeous wooden gift box, with magnetic closure. It really increases the already stunning presentation. The box can be used to store the watch, or anything else, for years to come. It also includes a cleaning cloth and cleaning oil pen, to keep your watch in pristine shape.


Even the box is impressive, but not to worry, it does not outshine the watch at all, because the watch is even more breathtaking. I chose the Hyde series in Walnut & Black. I like the look of the medium dark wood and the darker face, it makes it pop without having too much contrast.


This is one of the nicest watches I have ever seen. It is beautiful and clearly well made with high quality materials. I know the recipient will be wowed by this gift, and now I want one for myself. I am so glad they make women's watches too, because these are too cool.

Have you ever owned a wood watch? Do you want to know? Is there someone on your list who would love this? I would love to talk about gift ideas and Jord watches or anything else in the comments.

But before that, Jord has been kind enough to give away a $100 Jord Gift card to one of my lucky readers. Enter HERE. Also, all of my readers can get 20% off their Jord order with code "andreasworldreviews".


Ladies Wood Watch

*I received a sample to facilitate my review. All opinions are $100 my own.*

Coming Soon - Penwizard Review

I love personalized books. They make the best gifts. Kids love them, they are very thoughtful and special while also being educational. They are a gift that can be enjoyed over and over, and even passed down to their children one day. So I am very excited to be reviewing a personalized book from Penwizard.

Each and every book Penwizard prints is unique, just like your child! Founded from a love of children and children's books, Penwizard set up a company that took children's publishing to the next level. For more than 10 years, they've used their skills and expertise to push the boundaries and create inspirational books where children actually appear in the illustrations.


You can get 15% off* your entire order or personalized books at Penwizard, just in time for the holidays! Use code HOLIDAY15 at checkout. *Valid until 12/25/2017.