Monday, June 29, 2015

Amwell - Consult a Doctor From Anywhere. First Visit FREE!

*This is a sponsored post with Mums the Word Network and Amwell. All opinions are my own.*

In this day and age technology is basically the center of most people's lives. I kind of have a love/hate relationship with technology. While, as a blogger, I obviously utilize my laptop/the internet daily, and even earn my income that way. I love what I do, and am very glad technology makes it possible.

On the other hand, I don't see the need to be able to tweet about the coffee you just bought before even drinking it and texting the person sitting 4 feet away from you instead of just talking to them. Or even worse, texting other people while someone is trying to spend tome with you.


As with all things, you must accept the bad with the good, but I have often found myself wishing that with all the advancements, that there would be more ways that my smartphone can benefit me, personally.

Que Amwell with a service that I have long been waiting for, but was never sure would actually come to fruition. Smartphones are already cameras, calculators, dictionaries, encyclopedias, maps, and much more. Now, with Amwell, they can be doctors too. A real, U.S. trained, board certified doctor in the palm of your hand at a moment's notice. The future has arrived.




I have always hated going to the doctor. Not because I have a fear or anything like that, but because I hate to wait. When you are hurt or sick, the last thing you want to do is leave to comfort of your home to sit in a room and wait to be helped. Even if you can get an appointment the same day or the next, which is still a long time to wait when not feeling well, once you arrive, it is likely you will sit awhile waiting to be seen.

I understand that Doctors have studied and trained very hard for the job that they have and that not everyone can do it. I also understand that I am essentially paying them for their time, which they have earned. However, when I am kept waiting, I still pay them the same amount when the finally get around to seeing me.

I am no doctor, but my time is still valuable, and I don''t want to feel like I am paying to waste my valuable time. Most of the time, the doctor just tells you how to treat yourself, or prescribes you something to take on your own. Essentially, you are just paying for their opinion and signature(on a prescription).


My husband and I actually had this exact issue just last week. One of my husband's teeth  became abscessed. His whole check was swollen and he was in immense pain. We both knew it was an infection and that he likely just needed an antibiotic to get rid of it. Yet he did not want make an appointment and sit and wait, and he basically decided to wait it out and try to treat it at home.

He tried several home remedies to try to fix it, including chewing raw garlic(as that is supposed to aid inflammation and kill bacteria. All he was successful in doing was wasting his time and allowing the problem to get worse and cause him pain longer that necessary. Finally, I discovered Amwell and had him set up with an online visit.




He is not tech friendly at all, but Amwell is so easy to use, just click to connect to a doctor and talk to them via the webcam(phone cam). He was able to show the Amwell doctor the infected tooth, swollen face and irritated gums. The doctor prescribed him antibiotics for the infection, a paste for the gum irritation and a few pain relievers to help fight the pain until the other items take effect fully. All he had to do was go to the pharmacy about 5 minutes away and pick up the prescriptions.

His tooth was better less than 2 days later, and he is thrilled. He was amazed that Amwell could actually take the place of an in-person doctor visit, but now, I doubt he will ever visit a physical doctor unless something is bleeding or broken.

Amwell is such an asset for me too. Since I am always home with the kids while my husband(the only driver in the house) is at work all day, if something is wrong with one of the kids, I have no way to get to a doctor. If it is an emergency, of course there is an ambulance, but I can't call an ambulance for a cold, fever, bruise or scrape. Amwell is there for the non-emergency times that I need expert advice. And if the kids need a prescription, Amwell can take care of it, and hubby can pick it up on his way home.



I just love the peace of mind I get from knowing I always have a doctor on call. Best of all, it does not cost any more than a visit to a local doctor, in fact it is more affordable in many cases. In fact, currently, you can get your first visit absolutely FREE. Just use the coupon MOMSLOVEAMWELL


Of course I hope you will not need a doctor any time soon, but if and when you do, Amwell has you covered. And with the first visit free, you have absolutely nothing to lose but waiting time.

Monday, June 22, 2015

North Dakota - Where the Outdoors Truly are Great

 *Disclosure: This is a sponsored post on behalf of North Dakota. All opinions are 100% my own.*

Summer vacation season is upon us. If you take a yearly vacation, you are probably planning out where to go. I know first hand that this is not an easy decision by any means. There are so many things to consider, especially when going with the family.

While budget might be a factor, generally, there is so much more that factors in higher than cost. With our family, for example, it is all about the kids. If it is not a place that the kids will feel comfortable and have fun, it is not even considered.

Lately, another vital component is that the trip will be life changing. I know that sounds extreme, but really it's not. I simply want what we experience on our trip to stay with us for a lifetime. Not only with fond memories of togetherness, but with education and historical and cultural awareness. Actually living pieces of history is the best way to learn about them, and that knowledge will be with you forever.

Granted, almost any family vacation will create lifelong memories, but visiting Disney World for the 4th time really does not compare to seeing the Fort Union Trading Post in person for the first time. In fact, the latter is something I have never done and have always wanted to do. It's something that would be incredible to share with my children. It would truly be unforgettable.

For that reason, our next vacation spot will have to be North Dakota. There is so much to see and to do in North Dakota that cannot be done anywhere else. Of course there is the Fort Union Trading Post, which I already mentioned, but there are also many Native American villages. Being of Native American descent myself, that is fascinating to me, and I would love to share my children's heritage with them.



There are countless outdoor activities such as camping, fishing, canoeing and hiking the Lewis & Clark Trail. There is excellent camping and several amazing zoos and wildlife refuges. There is also great hunting, if that is something you are interested in. To my husband's delight, there is great golf courses as well. To me outside activities are the epitome of summer, so I love that there is so much to do outdoors.


I think the historic aspects are the most exciting factor for me. North Dakota is home to so much history. From the Chateau de Mores to Fort Buford State Historic Site to Fort Seward Military Post and countless museums, there is so much knowledge to be gained and history to be experienced.


Making the decision to visit North Dakota was easy. Now comes the hard part of deciding exactly which cities to visit while we are there. I wish it was possible to see and do everything that North Dakota has to offer, but that might take a lifetime. One thing is for sure, no matter where we go in North Dakota, it is sure to be legendary.


We are ready to discover our legendary. I am using the official North Dakota tourism website to help us plan our trip. It is so helpful. You can search through basically every attraction and order free brochures and information. I can't wait to live legendary in North Dakota.

Let's chat. Do you live in or have you visited North Dakota? What is your favorite attraction or activity? If you have never been to North Dakota, have you previously considered visiting? If not, is it because you were not aware of all the North Dakota has to offer? What are you waiting for? I would love to hear everyone's thoughts on North Dakota and on vacations in general.

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Orginization Made Easy With Picjoy

This post was created in partnership with Mom Buzz Media.
picjoy ROF
Picjoy is an intelligent photo library that automatically organizes all of your precious photos and helps you locate them instantly. Can you imagine having all of your photos organized? That’s what’s so exciting about PicJoy.

◆ RECORD ◆ Record the details and stories behind each of your photos. ◆ ORGANIZE ◆ Watch Picjoy instantly organize your photos for you - no matter where they are stored! ◆ FIND ◆ Search by category or keyword to retrieve any photo you've ever taken right from your mobile phone.

This app is such an asset to me. I am basically the least organized person on earth. I can barely find my phone half the time, let alone find the pictures I want on the spot. Searching through thousands of pictures is less fun than it should be, because it is work when you are looking for something. With  Picjoy, my pictures or sorted intelligently, making it super easy to find the ones I am looking for. I only wish I had this kind of organization for my memory cards, or better yet in the other aspects of my life.

PICJOY is available now on iTunes FREE for a limited time! DOWNLOAD on iTUNES NOW!

Picjoy photo app will also be available for the Android market on Google Play soon so be looking for it!

And NOW for the GIVEAWAY!!!

picjoy giveaway button
Picjoy is thrilled to finally be able to share their app with the world! In celebration we will be giving away a few gift cards sponsored by Picjoy and hosted by the Mom Buzz Media Bloggers!

4 Winners each get a $25 Amazon Gift Card!

Giveaway ends 6/30 at 11:59pm CST. Winners will be notified via email and will have 48 hours to respond. If no response is received, then a new winner will be chosen. All winning entries will be verified. Sponsor is responsible for prize fulfillment. US Residents only please. Good Luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, June 13, 2015

Check Out the New LG G4 Smartphone at Best Buy

buzzoole code*The reviewer has been compensated in the form of a Best Buy Gift Card and/or received the product/service at a reduced price or for free.*

Are you looking for the hottest, most up to date smartphone on the market? Who isn't, right? If not for yourself, I am sure there is a very special father in your life that would love an incredible new smartphone this Father's Day.

In any case, there is only one smartphone you should be considering, and it is the LG G4. I had the pleasure of checking this incredible phone out at my local Best Buy. Actually it was almost a displeasure, because it just made me realize how inferior my current phone is. That's right, I got a major case of phone envy.


The LG G4 is the coolest phone I have ever seen, and I am not exaggerating. There are many features that make the new LG G4 stand out from the pack, but the most distinctive superiorities are in the camera, the display and the design.

The curved design that ergonomically fits the palm of your hand is wonderful. I've always found it odd holding on to a flat rectangle. It is not only functional physically, thanks to the Upgradable memory up to 2TB with micro SD card and a replaceable high capacity 3,000mAh battery. With features like that, the premium style of genuine leather, metallic and ceramic style back covers is just icing on the cake.


The cutting edge 5.5" IPS Quantum Display ensures an outstanding visual experience. The 25% brighter display along with a 50% improvement in contrast for richer images makes for enhanced viewing in various lighting conditions. Quad HD resolution with 538 PPI ensures incredible detail. It's all in the details after all.

As impressive as all the design and display features are, the most important aspect, to me personally, is the camera. As a blogger it is part of my job to take high quality photos, and sometimes all I have for a camera is my phone. Also, as a mother, I want to be able to capture any special moment in my family's life, even when my DSLR is at home. A high quality camera is essential.

The LG G4 must have known that, which is why their camera is so impressive. The camera boasts f/1.8 aperture for impressive performance in low light situations. This is so great for me as I often attend events and such where the lighting is very poor. It has a manual mode with 15 settings and over 135 options for great control over how photos are captured.  I really love the improved Laser Auto Focus so I can always be ready to capture the moment.

While I am not much of a selfie queen, I love the 8MP front facing camera, so that if I decide to take a selfie, I don't look like total garbage. I am more excited about the 16MP rear facing camera so the pictures I take of everything else look fantastic. That's also why I adore the improved Optical Image Stabilization which steadies the shot for sharp, focused images. I always have a hard time steadying on my own and other stabilizers seem so ineffective. I am super interested in the RAW image file capture, since that produces the highest possible image quality. I have never worked with RAW files before, but I have been wanted to. This camera blows all other smartphone cameras out of the water, and even puts digital and SLR cameras on notice.

As phenomenal as the LG G4 smartphone is, it is easy to neglect thoughts of anything else, like the price for example. Obviously, a brand new smartphone with all the latest features is not going to be a drop in the bucket, but it is an investment and it is completely worth it. Especially when you get it from Best Buy, since they have the best price.

Best Buy is generously offering a Guaranteed $100 Best Buy® Gift Card when you purchase the LG G4. This incredible offer is valid on the LG G4 Release Date of 6/13/15. So if you have been waiting for an excuse to indulge in a new LG G4, I pretty much just handed it to you, wrapped in a gold bow. Take it and enjoy.

If you still cannot be sure about the LG G4, I suggest you head to your local Best Buy and check it out. Not only will you be able to see the LG G4 up close and discover what makes it so wonderful, but you will have access to Best Buy associates, who are always friendly and knowledgeable. I am sure they can answer any questions you may have and help you in any way possible.

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Survive the Summer with Doctor On Demand

*This is a sponsored post with Mums the Word Network and Doctor on Demand. All opinions are my own.*

Summer is here. School is out, the weather is warm and they days are long -very long. If you have kids, it's a safe bet that they are looking for an activity every second of the day. Activities are sure to include things like going to the park, beach and/or pool, camping, fishing, riding bikes/skates and much more.

During all that fun and adventure there are bound to be bumps, bruises and possibly even more severe injuries. That is actually one of my greatest fear, something happening to one of my children. Even the thought if a semi-minor injury, terrifies me. Aside from the fact that I never want any harm to come to my children, I am also worried that I will not know what to do if something were to happen.

Obviously, for a serous injury I would call an ambulance or rush to the ER, but my children both hate doctors, and I hate spending hours waiting in some lobby just for a doctor to tell me how to handle the injury myself. That seems like a huge waste of time. I have always thought there should be a way to get doctor's advice over the phone or something.

That is why I am so happy to have discovered Doctor on Demand. Doctor on Demand is exactly what the name describes -access to a doctor at any time from anywhere. Doctor on Demand can be used from any computer(with Chrome browser) or from a smartphone with their IOS or Andriod apps.


With so many perils lurking this summer, many that don't require a physical doctor to treat them, it is so nice to have the peace of mind that I can have a doctor look at the injury and offer advice for treatment immediately. Now, while we are away from home, I won't have to worry about finding a new doctor and waiting for hours just for them to tell me what to do.

Doctor on Demand even has a list of the top 10 perils of summer:

10 Perils of Summer      
  1.  Bee Sting - Ouch! Bees, wasps, hornets and other stinging bugs are sometimes unavoidable.   
  2. Sunburn  - Protect your skin from the sun, and avoid the most severe UV rays between 10am-4pm.             
  3. Concussions - A concussion can result from a blow to the body or head, such as a fall from a swing set.      
  4. Poison Oak & Ivy - In the woods everything is green and leafy and… poisonous? Some plants really make you itch.        
  5. Jellyfish - They’re not really fish, and they don’t attack. But their tentacles pack a painful and potent venom.      
  6. Tick bites - Lyme disease and other complications can arise from a nasty little tick bite. Ask a doctor.      
  7. Sunstroke - Kids and seniors are at higher risk for heat exhaustion and sunstroke. Be aware.      
  8. Sports Injuries - After a long winter, we’re in a rush to get outdoors. Sometimes leading to a trip and fall.          
  9. Burns - Accidents can happen when we’re around campfires or BBQ grills. Get treatment right away.      
  10. Kids bumps and bruises - Sometimes it’s a minor scrape, but it may be a more serious bruise. Let’s have a look.   
Get help fast. Stuff happens. But our doctors are always just a few taps away, no matter where you are this summer.


Having help for these kinds of urgent issues is such a weight off my shoulders. My daughter burned two of her fingers a few months back, and I was a wreck. I  was scrambling trying to figure out the best thing to do. I knew she did not need an ER, but considered taking her there anyway since she does not have  a regular doctor and all the pediatricians were closed at that time of night anyway. I did the best I could and everything turned out fine, but I really wish I had known about Doctor on Demand at that time, it would have saved me a lot of worry and probably made things smoother for my daughter as well.

What is really great about Doctor on Demand is that in addition to the medical doctors you can visit with, you can also visit a psychologist. This is a huge benefit. I was diagnosed with Depression(Major Depressive Disorder) when I was a teenager.  I still struggle every now and then, as I am sure everyone does at times. Sometimes I feel like my whole world is crumbling, and the worst part is, I have no idea why.


I have thought about visiting a psychologist many times before. While there is obviously no shame in that, I do sometimes feel like I don't want my husband to know. I don't want to ask "why" or "what's wrong", because I don't have an answer. I could go while he is at work, except I don't drive and we live in a small ton(surrounded by more small towns) and I don't even know where a psychologist is near me.

Discovering Doctor on Demand was such a blessing for me. I actually did take the step. I set up an appointment with a psychologist. I was able to talk about the way that I feel sometimes and explore why I might feel that way and what I should do about it. Just being able to talk about it to someone I don't know, without any fear of judgment or pity or disappointment was incredible.

It was so freeing and I think that anyone who ha considered it in the past and decided against it for whatever reason should definitely give it a try. Doctor on Demand is the perfect way to get the hekp you may need without having to worry about someone seeing you or knowing that you went or anything. Just you and reputable psychologist on your schedule from your own home.

Now location, time, transportation or anything else will not have to interfere with you and your family getting the medical and mental care that they need. Price will not be a factor either. While Doctor on Demand is always affordable, Andrea's World readers will get their first Doctor on Demand visit for FREE. Simply use the code ANDREASWORLD to make your first visit free. The coupon is valid through July 15th(2015).

Monday, June 1, 2015

Chase54 Review & Giveaway

As we all know by now, Father's Day is right around the corner. Now is the time to get started on finding the perfect gift. I tend to go a bit overboard on gifts for my husband, not just on Father's Day, but every holiday/birthday/anniversary.

Going overboard is always great, until I realize he now has so much stuff I have no idea what else to get him. While I love to buy him things, I hate giving him something just for the sake of doing it. I want all his gifts to have a meaning and a purpose. It is the thought that counts after all.

I keep telling myself that I will not be getting him clothes anymore. He has an entire closet full of stuff that I have bought him over the past few years. About half of the stuff has never been worn once, and much of the rest only a time or two. It's not that he doesn't like the clothes, it's that he wears a uniform at work and wears the same "comfort" clothes the rest of the time.

He is a comfort oriented guy. The clothes I get him are all t-shirts and jerseys, athletic shorts, sweat pant and the occasional pair of jeans, and that is all he will wear. He has maybe two items of "dress clothing"; a suit and a the shirt that goes with it.

So why now am I saying to myself, "I know the perfect gift for my husband this Father's Day. It's an outfit from Chase54." While it seems like a bad choice, I know it is perfect. How do I know? Well, my husband loves golf. One of my great gifts for him a couple years ago was a set of golf clubs, and the are barely used because he never had anything acceptable to wear to a golf course.

He always said he didn't care and did not need special clothes, but I disagree, and so did he as soon as he tried on his new outfit from Chase54. That's right. I got too excited and gave it to him early. He actually really loved the style as soon as he saw it, which was a great relief to me, but his favorite aspect was the comfort, which I knew it would be.

I chose the Summit shorts(in Onyx) and the Duvall Short Sleeved Polo shirt. I love the way they look together. The Onyx color of the shorts obviously go with almost anything, but the Duvall being gray with black(and white) accents, it really blends together while still standing out. I think he looks so handsome in his outfit. He agrees.


The best part is that these items are not only designed to look great and feel comfortable, they are designed to preform at a high level and make your golf game go smoother. Features like  DRYFUZE™ SORONA by DUPONT™ yarn which combines extreme moisture wicking and quick drying with ultra comfort and stretch that allows for full mobility on your swing, Chase54 clothing is so much more than your average outfit.

While I may still be looking for more "perfect presents" since I gave this gem away too soon, I can say with certainty that an outfit from Chase54 will make an incredible Father's Day gift for any lucky dad that you may be shopping for this year. They have tons of styles and colors, so you are sure to find just the thing to make dad smile.

And to make you smile, you have the chance to win an outfit from Chase54 and receive it in time for Father's Day. Two lucky winners will each receive their choice of a Short Sleeve Polo and pair of shorts from Chase54 ($140 value). Learn more about Chase54 and check out the giveaway below. Good luck.

giveaway image chase54

G E N E R A T I O N S F O R T H E P U R S U I T CHASE54 Father's Day Giveaway!

Hosted by: Mom Buzz Media Bloggers

CHASE54 is golf apparel designed to push the limits of what’s considered possible. In fit. In feel. In fashion and performance. Their garments are made to shatter your expectations of what golf clothing can be, both on and off the course. With over 30 years of manufacturing experience, they strive for unprecedented excellence in each and every piece of golf clothing they create.

FEEL IT TO BELIEVE IT

CHASE54's expertise is revolutionizing fabric creation like never before. They do this because they are a premier clothing manufacturer with more than 30 years of experience. CHASE54 scientists start in the most raw form, thinking through technologies that really matter on the golf course and even the largest labels in the world do not offer. No other golf apparel brand has the ability to bring these luxurious fabrics or this elite technology ahead of CHASE54, as they actually create the fabrics. They consider the fabric before it becomes fabric. They think about fabric delighting and benefitting the people, before it becomes fabric. When you feel it, you’ll believe it. #Feel2Believe
feel-it
You will find luxury women's and men's golf apparel at CHASE54. Right now, they are having an amazing Father's Day promotion! ALL Polo shirts are $54, and you can get 54% off EVERYTHING else!!
That's amazing, but to make it even better, Mom Buzz Media bloggers and their readers get an additional 5% off using code DAD05! This code is exclusive to MBM! So you save 59% - WOWZA! Get shopping for Men's Golf Apparel for Father's Day at CHASE 54 now!
Chase 54 sale

Mom Buzz Media bloggers got the opportunity to review some awesome CHASE 54 gear! Check out what they had to say about it by visiting any or all of the reviews below!

 

G I V E A W A Y T I M E

CHASE54 has offered Mom Buzz Media bloggers and their readers this awesome giveaway! Enter below for your chance to be one of 2 lucky winners who will each get to choose a pair of shorts and a polo shirt! (approx $140 value)

Good Luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway  
This blog is not responsible for prize fulfillment. Giveaway ends June 8, 2015 at 11:59pm. Winner will be notified via email and will have 48 hours to claim their prize. Styles to choose from will depend on availability. If the winner does not respond, a new winner will be chosen. US residents only please.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

The World of Eric Carle™ Interactive Table & Chair and Voice Pen by Creative Baby - Review

I consider myself pretty savvy. I like to think that I know quite a bit about a lot of things, which is why I am always taken aback when I discover things that I should have already known about. That is exactly what happened to me recently, when I found out about Creative Baby and their wonderful line of learning products.

While the name suggest that their products are only for babies, they offer so much more than that. Their interactive i-Mats and even simply activity cards take learning to the next level with the assistance of the incredible Voice Pen.


The Voice Pen is an easy to use handheld "pen" that plays adorable children's songs. You can even download you own music. The Voice Pen is really at its best, though, when paired with other Creative Baby learning products like Activity Cards, i-Mats and The World of Eric Carle™ Interactive Table + Chair.


When paired with such items, the Voice Pen can play games, like trivia challenges where they will as a question that the child can answer by touching the pen to the correct choice. It can make the objects on the mat talk and such, and you(the parent) can even record custom messages for any of the items on the mat, controlling what the voice pen will say when they are touched.

It can all be done in three different languages as well: English, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese. Not only is that wonderful for those whose native tongue is not English, it is a fun and easy way for children to begin to learn other languages once they have mastered the concepts in English.

As wonderful as the Voice Pen is, The World of Eric Carle™ Interactive Table & Chair is what really drew me in. The Very Hungry Caterpillar is my all time favorite children's book. It was one of the first books I began reading to my son (and later on my daughter) and the very first book(besides baby board books) that my son learned to read on his own. And it is still his favorite book today.

I even have a video of my son (who has autism and did not even speak until after he turned 3) reading The Very Hungry Caterpillar when he was 4 1/2. He is now nearly 8.


My daughter is currently 3 and is not yet reading, but we are working very hard on it. The Very Hungry Caterpillar is the book we read together at least once a day. I knew that the The World of Eric Carle™ Interactive Table & Chair along with the Voice Pen would be so perfect for her.

I was a bit nervous since the table and chair are made of foam and my little girl is not so little anymore, but once I assembled the table and chair, I knew I had nothing to worry about. They are very sturdy.


I actually love the fact that they are foam now, as I don't have to worry about her crunching her toes or banging a corner or other such harmful things that I know she would find a way to do on something heavier and harder.

What is reallygreat about the The World of Eric Carle™ Interactive Table & Chair is that there are two different mat that can be used for the table top, meaning twice the fun and learning activities.


I wish I could get one of these big enough for my son too, because I know he would love it so much, but he is way to big(and knows all the things this teaches anyway). Since the mats come off though, I will try to let him play with those from time to time. That will not be easy though, because my daughter knows this is hers and she does not like to share.

Besides that, she loves it so much that I don't think she will ever stop playing with it. I had to take a video, because I could never actually describe how she plays with this. She is a bit scattered, but she is having so much fun, and that is what matters.


If you have a little one who is learning about letters, numbers, shapes and animals, the The World of Eric Carle™ Interactive Table & Chair and the Voice Pen would be the perfect way to help educate them while giving them their independence and letting them discover through play. Actually, any of Creative Baby's products will serve this purpose; their stuff rocks!

Follow Creative Baby on Facebook and Twitter as well to stay up to date on all the latest product information.
*While I received these items at no cost to facilitate a review, all opinions are 100% my own.*