Thursday, July 18, 2019

Six Quick Tips to Learn Swimming as an Adult

It can be a little embarrassing to learn how to swim when you’re already an adult. There’s no
need to feel this way, however. There are so many adults who never learned how to swim.

Whether you were scared of the water at a young age or simply didn’t have an opportunity to
learn, it is never too late! Even someone in their sixties can still learn how to swim from
scratch. All it takes is a little effort, time, and the right information.

In this article, we’ll take a look at six quick tips to learn swimming as an adult. These tips are
targeted directly at those who have little to no experience with swimming and are already in
their 20s or higher.

If you fit the above category or know someone else who does, take a look at our six tips
below!

#1 – Start in Shallow Waters

The water can be quite intimidating to those who haven’t yet learned how to survive in it.
Just because you’re an adult doesn’t mean you have to start in the deep end. In fact, we
strongly recommend that you stay far away from any level of water that is taller than you until
you’ve learned how to keep your head above the water. For more in-depth guidance about
learning to swim, check out https://felixswimschools.com/

Starting in the shallow end of the pool gives you a chance to learn some basic strokes and
how to float. Floating is one of the easier steps to swimming and should be learned first,
when possible. At least if you’ve learned how to float face-up in the water, you will have the
means to survive if you find yourself in deeper water.

#2 – Use Goggles

Using goggles makes your experience in the water easier and more interesting. Some
swimming pools have lines drawn on the bottom of them to let you know if you’re swimming
in a straight line or not. On top of that, people who are still a bit frightened of being
underwater will find it easier to handle when they can see something.

Finally, goggles are useful because they keep the water out of your eyes. Getting water in
your eyes is one of the things that stops many people from continuing to swim. The logical
reaction is to get up and rub your eyes, which stops you from practicing further. Use some
goggles and practice staying underwater for as long as you can. (Please remain in shallow
water when doing this)

#3 – Swim at Least Three or Four Times Each Week


Practice makes perfect! You can’t just pop into the swimming pool once a week and expect
to learn how to swim after a few goes at it. It takes many hours of practice for even the best
of us to learn the basics of swimming.

To ensure that your lessons go into your brain and you start to develop instinctive swimming
patterns, you should aim to swim at least three or four times a week. Try to remain in the
water for at least one hour for each of these visits. It may seem like a lot of time, but this will
allow you to master the basics of swimming much faster!

#4 – Master Freestyle

Freestyle looks easy when you watch the experienced swimmer. However, it isn’t as simple
as it may look. You need to account for all of the following factors when you master it:
· Arm movement
· Wrist, elbow, and arm positions
· Leg flutter kick
· Turning your body
· Breathing out as you face downward
· Breathing in as you face up
Without mastering each individual form of movement, your body won’t be able to keep up.

Obviously, you can’t continually process each of these things consciously as you go. You
need to practice them one-by-one for long enough to commit them to automatic memory.
Once you have, you’ll find it extremely easy to swim using freestyle.

#5 – Try Using Fins

When you first start practicing freestyle, you may notice that you aren’t moving much if at all!
Using fins while practicing is a great way to get some forward momentum as you learn.

Once you’ve mastered all the freestyle movements and positions, you can try utilizing them
without the fins until you’re confident that you have enough natural power to do so.

#6 – Take Swimming Lessons

At the end of the day, the easiest way to learn something is to ask someone who has already
mastered it for help! Swimming instructors are taught how to teach swimming to
inexperienced people. In fact, you might be surprised by how many adult-focused swimming
classes there are out there.

Make sure that you find a swimming instructor that has professional training, such as Red
Cross instructor training. Once you’ve found somewhere that offers instructors with that level
of skill, they will enroll you into an adult class with similar experience to yours. This truly is
the best and fastest way to learn how to swim!

Tuesday, June 18, 2019

Hair loss - Causes, Treatment and Prevention

The hair is considered as our crowning glory. From choosing our unique hairstyles—haircut and hair color, we do show some love and care for our hair that easily represents our personality.

Although many people choose to get bald, the unintentional occurrence of hair loss is an issue that should be given attention. There might be an underlying problem about this that will determine if your health is at risk.

According to OnHealth website, there are about 50 million men and 30 million women in the
U.S who are affected by falling out of hair. By the time men reach 50, about 50% of them will
experience it.

Now, let us zoom in to your scalp before you get bald. Also check out nisimreviewsfast.info for more in-depth info about hair loss.

Hair loss can be determined by examining the scalp if the condition is due to the physical destruction and loss of hair follicles. Non-scarring hair loss is the case if the scalp looks perfectly normal with plenty of empty hair follicles while cicatricial alopecia destroys the follicles permanently. The former happens when there is physical or chemical damage to the hair shaft that results in breakage.

Distinguishing hair loss from hair breakage must be done by medical professionals. Medical
health screening for hair loss may include blood tests such as complete blood count (CBC), iron level, vitamin B, thyroid function tests (TFT), and a biopsy of the scalp.

What are the causes?

Identifying the cause of hair loss can be quite challenging since it has many types.
The thinning of hair may arise due to the following causes:

● Genetic factors as well as the overall aging process starting 30s and 40s such as
hormonal changes (in puberty, pregnancy, and menopause), emotional trauma, protein
deprivation, and illness.
● Several health conditions including iron deficiency anemia, thyroid disease, and
secondary syphilis are considered to be the causes of this condition.
● With all these, the most common cause would be alopecia which occurs on normal
unscarred scalp skin. This is produced by the autoimmune destruction of hair follicles in
localized areas of the skin.

As classified by physicians, this can be:

● Patchy hair loss wherein some conditions produce small areas of losing hair while others
affect large areas of the scalp. This is commonly caused by:
o alopecia areata (small circular or coin-sized bald patches on the scalp that grow
back within months),
o traction alopecia (thinning because of tight braids or ponytails),
o trichotillomania (from twisting or pulling hair out),

o tinea capitis (fungal infection), and
o secondary syphilis
● Diffuse hair loss which is caused by
o drug-induced alopecia,
o pattern alopecia,
o protein malnutrition, and
o systemic disease-induced alopecia (cancer, endocrine disease, and telogen
effluvium).

How can this be treated?

This condition can be aided and/or treated through these 5 recommendations:
● Sprinkling hair-fiber powders to camouflage balding areas,
● Attaching hairpieces such as synthetic wigs, human hair wigs, hair extensions, among
others to add a hair of similar color temporarily,
● Undergoing surgery such as hair transplantation or scalp reduction for natural-looking
results,
● Low-level laser devices approved by the FDA for men to stimulate hair growth,
● Reinjecting platelet-rich plasma obtained from the patients’ processed whole blood into
their own scalp, and
● Taking medications including minoxidil (Rogaine) and finasteride (Propecia).

How can this be prevented?

The prevention of hair loss manifestation begins with having good hair hygiene—regular
shampooing More than this basic step, good nutrition with acquiring adequate levels of vitamin
B and iron. Plus, the treatment of the underlying medical conditions such as anemia, thyroid
disease, and hormonal imbalances is recommended.

Did you know that there are myths about pattern baldness?

● For males, they say that:
o baldness is inherited through the mother's side of the family but the truth is
genes for baldness can come from either parent.
o massaging the scalp will help in the hair regrowth through stimulating circulation
around the follicles. This may make you feel good. However, there are no studies
that prove this as effective.

● For females,
o having long hair does not strain the roots and the hair to fall out.

o Too much brushing of hair does not cause hair loss as those that come out from
combing are ready to fall out anyway.

Friday, June 14, 2019

7 Ways Quality Graphic Design Enhances Your Brand

Graphic design nowadays is a priority for everyone who intends to start a new business. We need impressive visual content to catch and hold our potential audience’s attention, get people to know our brand and to create marketing materials, whether it be pamphlets, business cards, stationery, and even email newsletters.

Every brand needs to have an identity and a large presence in its niche, and graphic design is a necessary tool for creating both. Besides, it improves the way you communicate with your customers. Graphic design will always be necessary to inform, draw interest and even persuade your audience to buy in a clean, attractive and effective way through visual content.


If you are planning on starting a new business or you would like to give a new image to the one you already have, this is what professional graphic design can do for you:

1. Good graphic design makes you look good and it enhances your sales

We all know first impressions matter. You can either create a good first impression or spend quite some time working your way through someone’s heart… or wallet. Professional graphic design creates a powerful and positive first impression that will benefit your business in a matter of seconds.

When people look at a high-quality design, they immediately associate this with the quality of your brand’s products and services. In people’s minds, good graphics means a reliable brand, and a reliable brand means great products that are worth spending money on.

Take into consideration that someone could find your brand in many different ways. Perhaps they saw your latest social media post, found your website on Google, saw an ad, got your business card, etc. You have to be careful and make sure you are putting your best foot forward every time you deal with your brand’s image.

2. It quickly conveys your message

As the saying goes, a picture is worth a thousand words. When most would overlook your marketing efforts when they are in written form, your visual content will pop out and do all the talking for you in a literal blink.

That is why professional designers create graphic content based on the message you want to deliver, they choose specific colors and typefaces to communicate your message in a visual way. This is why graphic design is so successful, it is a clever way to make your target audience connect with your message almost without them even knowing.

This applies to any type of information you want to share. Research has shown that infographics beat any other type of content when it comes to being shared and liked on social media, so whenever there is a piece of information you would like your audience to know, you could use graphic design to accompany your information in written form and create a potentially viral piece of visual content.

3. It gives consistency to your brand

The graphic materials and content you use need to be consistent to create a reliable image to your audience. Your logo, brand colors, imagery and messaging must be the same in every product that reaches your customer. When these aspects of your business are not consistent, it tends to confuse your clients and make them feel uncomfortable, creating a negative association with your company that will definitely affect your profit.

4. It makes your customers trust you

Good, aesthetic graphic design makes your brand welcoming and trustworthy in the minds of potential clients. Actually, they will trust your products or services if the design is attractive to them, and vice-versa.

If you can make your customers feel comfortable with your brand, you can be sure they will happily come back every time they need your products, as you have created a safe, reliable place for them to spend on.

Additionally, it will give you the polished, professional look people are always looking for whenever they are planning to spend their money on a new product.

5. It sets you apart from the competition

The graphic materials you choose to represent your company will make you stand out from the competition. People like to associate themselves with things that look and make them feel good and quality graphic design creates attractive visuals to pick their interest, influencing their choices so that they eventually become loyal customers.

6. It establishes your brand

Design also helps establish your company’s name in its niche market. An effective logo will always remind us of the brand behind it. The more we see it, the more we remember the brand, making us recognize it every time we see it. This is especially important for small companies that can’t afford big marketing efforts. A unique logo and a good business card design can be few but powerful marketing items to establish your brand with just a few resources.

7. It unites your employees

In a company, employees will always be surrounded by different company items such as stationery, brochure, uniforms, and the brand’s logo. These designs help unite employees under the same identity.

If you are trying to boost the potential of your brand and enhance your sales, graphic design will always be an excellent tool to renew your connection with your audience and change the way it perceives and consumes your brand.

Wednesday, June 12, 2019

Little Bites Father’s Day Sweepstakes + Win A $25 Visa GIft Card and Free Little Bites!

*The coupons for product redemption, information, and gift card have been provided by Entenmann’s Little Bites muffins so that I could try the product and share my thoughts and information about Entenmann’s Little Bites muffins. The opinions expressed in this post are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Entenmann’s Little Bites muffins*

Father's Day is this weekend! You likely have your gifts on hand and your plans made, but there is still time to pick up last minute extras and even time to win a $100 Amazon Gift Card or some adorable dad/child matching socks plus Little Bites Muffins. All you have to do is enter Little Bites Muffins' Father's Day Sweepstakes. The deadline to enter is June 16th, 2019.

Even if you don't win, Little Bites Muffins make a great Father's Day treat or easy ("made" by kids) breakfast idea. Like this fun (if not perfect) heart we made out of Little Bites Muffins.
Wouldn't this be perfect with a gift and Father's Day card placed in the middle?


Another fun idea would be to open the packs and use the muffins to spell out "DAD" or even "Happy Father's Day", if you want to go really big. That would be perfect for a larger gathering, like a BBQ, which totally screams Father's Day.

Unlike a lot of treats, Little Bites Muffins are made with real ingredients like blueberries, strawberries and bananas, contain no corn syrup and (most varieties) are 200 calories or less. So for kids, or kids at heart, Little Bites Muffins are a treat you can feel good about. 


Little Bites has been kind enough to provide a $25 Visa Digital Gift Card and 3 Little Bites Muffins Coupons for a giveaway. One lucky reader will win it all. Enter via the Rafflecopter below. Good luck. I hope you all have a happy, healthy, and delicious Father's Day.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, June 8, 2019

Father's Day Gift Guide - Field & Stream Blade Kayak

Father's Day is next weekend! While it is the thought that counts, I'm pretty sure dad can do without another tie or "best dad" mug. I prefer gifts that won't just sit in a drawer or on a shelf, rarely used. I like gifts that are also experiences - adventures.

So, for my hubby, I got the Field & Stream Blade Kayak, from Dick's Sporting Goods. He is not the super outdoorsy guy that does it all, but he does love boats and being on the water. He is usually a homebody, so I love being able to give him a gift that will help him get out and enjoy life.


Perfect for one rider. It features a contoured seat, with foam and adjustable backrest and adjustable foot rests, for all-day comfort, front and back storage, to hold everything you need, a cup holder, paddle keepers, and more. Plus front and rear handles, and the perfect lightweight (but totally durable) design, making it easy for one person to carry it. Plus, there are 6 different color options.

No matter how you look at it, this is a great kayak and a Father's Day present that no dad would ever forget. Plus, they are $100 off right now at dickssportinggoods.com. Honestly, this is a great price on any kayak, let alone one as awesome as this one. What a way to blow dad's mind and get a great bargain while doing it.

I hope you all have a happy, safe, and adventurous Father's Day.

*Although I received this product at no cost, to facilitate a review, all opinions are 100% my own.*

Monday, May 27, 2019

"Ugly" Pajamas Giveaway!!

I am all about comfort. At home, I live in lounge wear and PJs, literally. If I am in regular clothes, I am on my way out of the house. So, obviously, comfort is my main objective. However, I do still want to look cute and as stylish as possible. So I love PJs that have a fun design on them.

For over-the-top adorable PJs, UglyChristmasSweater is my go to. The have so many fabulous themes, and I adore onesies. They have lounge pants, too, for when I want something cooler. Both are soft and cozy. The epitome of comfort.


Now, I may be into soft clothes, but I'm not "soft", even in my hooded onesie, I am a gangster. So, naturally, these Wu-Tang logo designs were perfect for me. I love them. I can feel hard and soft at the same time. Wu-Tang Nation, represent!

Wu Tang Clan Logo Toss Pajama Union jumpsuitWu Tang Clan Logo Lounge Pants

There are so many other fabulous styles, too, like Star Wars, A Christmas Story, and Home Alone. Really, every pair awakens my inner nerd, and I want them all. I know you will, too. Luckily for you, UglyChristmasSweater has been awesome enough to give away a pair (winner's choice) to one of my readers. Just enter below for your chance to win. Good luck.

*Although I received these items at no cost to facilitate a review, all opinions are 100% my own.*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, May 13, 2019

Spring Sprucing

Spring has sprung and the spring cleaning has begun. But what about spring sprucing? What good is it to clean up a house that is run down and looking drab and do nothing about the house itself? Our home is not even that old, but it is already in need of a tune up.

The main areas that are often the most noticeably in need of attention are the walls (of course), any kicks, holes, chipped paint, etc. The yard, weeds, dead grass, askew stones or bed liners, etc. doors and cabinets, nicks, loose or missing knobs, etc. And of course, the roof, missing shingles, wear and tear, dips or sunken areas.


Just revamping some of these problem areas can make a home go from drab to fab. Seriously, it is amazing what a little Spackle and a fresh coat of paint can do to transform a room. The cabinets we have had ceramic knobs, and they must have been subpar quality, because the ceramic at the base cracks or the glue (or whatever it is) just disintegrates or whatever so the knob just slide off the metal piece, because they are not attached in any significant way.

So I am replacing all of the knobs on all of our cabinets. The old ones were boring, too. just plain white and round. I will be getting something fun this time, maybe antique brass looking, with a embossed design or something similar. Something distinctive, but still timeless and not too gaudy.

I am going to redo the "flower beds", where the bushes are. The bushes are all half dead and not symmetrical. I plan to plant a few food plants. Herbs and vegetables only, probably, since most fruits take so long to grow. Although a strawberry plant would be good. And I am going to get some lawn feeder to take care of the patchy spots.

Most of the sprucing projects are things that I can do myself. But I do know to get help when I need it, so I don't make a small problem into a big problem. Thankfully, I do most of the fixing in our home, so I don't have a hubby that would decide to "fix" us into a bigger problem either.

So what do I do for those jobs that are too much for us? I call a professional. There is no shame in letting someone who knows what they are doing be the one to do it. Like for the roof (we have a dip and just a general "raggedy" look due to a few hurricanes) we are going to have Westchase Roofing take a look. I'm thinking asphalt shingles will give us the result we want.

Besides just the fact that they know what they are doing and we don't, we picked Westchase roofing because they believe in one-on-one relationships with their customers. It's very rare, in today's world, that a company actually takes the time to get to know their customers and truly values them. That is something that my husband and I value.

So this spring, clean of you want, but don't forget to spruce. It will make your home feel like it's brand new, and give you a renewed passion for WANTING to spring clean, which is almost an impossible feat. Do what you can with what you know, and let a professional do the rest. Enjoy your "new" home.