Monday, August 30, 2021

Back To Business

Over the past year and a half, the Covid 19 pandemic has taken so much from all of us. It has been especially hard on small business, especially those deemed non-essential during lock downs and closures. Increased safety practices requirements also posed challenges for business with limited finances to implement new policies. 

Factor in would be customers being too cautious or too sick to patronize the business and employees also becoming more scarce due to illness or preventative caution and the effect is compounded. 

We are still not out of the woods with this pandemic, and it seems like we only keep getting further away from normalcy instead of closer. Still, in many areas, businesses are pretty much starting to re-open as usual. It is important for those of us that have the means to support small business that we really show up and get these businesses thriving again.

Data Cleaning Steps for Small Businesses - Business 2 Community

Huge chain corporations will not miss your business. They will survive and continue to not pay taxes and underpay workers. There will never be a shortage of McDonald's or Subway. But if your favorite little cafe, bakery, or Mexican restaurant were to close down, it would be impossible to replace.


Not only do these small businesses offer one of a kind goods and services, many times, they pay higher wages than chain corporations. A living wage. A good small business will treat the workers with respect. Most times, they become like family. 

So many small businesses also give back to the community. I have come across so many local small business that donate to those in needs, usually in many different ways. They do profit share fundraisers for local school, provide free food for charity events, and they hold food drives, toy drives, supply drives, and more. 

That is the real beauty of small business. They are your neighbors. We help them and they help us and we are all far better for it. The world needs a lot more of that. More kindness, more empathy, more understanding, more generosity. We all need to do what we can and be the good we want to see in the world.

I found a great article by Max Gorin that talks about some of the ways in which small business can make a bug impact on the community. It is great information and so true. I believe in the value of small business. I believe that we would all be worse off if they don't get the support they need to thrive and stay around for us. 

So, just in case you may need the reminder, as you go back to your girls night cocktails or Sunday brunches, or post quarantine haircuts and manicures, as you shop for your fall wardrobe and home decor, as you begin your holiday shopping, please remember that small businesses need us, and we need them. 

Also remember, that just because we are moving forward, we are not past this pandemic. Please use caution. Be safe and keep others safe.

Wednesday, August 25, 2021

Business and SOX Compliance

In 2002, the Sarbanes-Oxley Act was designed in an effort to protect investors from fraudulent business practices by public corporations. This was a positive change for investors, but made for a larger regulatory burden on businesses. The penalty for SOX non-compliance can be quite severe. Financial loss, reputation damage, dipping stocks, required remediation, and more, are all examples of the cost of SOX non-compliance.

What is SOX Compliance? Requirements & Controls - DNSstuff

The types of practices the SOX act prohibits are: altering (shredding, mutilating, destroying) or falsifying documents, certifying misleading or fraudulent financial reports, failing to report material conditions or financial changes in real time (as timely as reasonable), and failing to file regular financial reports with the FEC. Some of these sections carry the potential for heavy jail time if violated.

While these measures certainly are essential for a transparent (therefor trustworthy) business, the mental strain and worry of accidentally making a mistake can seem more like a a negative to business and workers. Just more stress.

The good news is that there are many SOX compliant software options that can easily ensure these regulations are being followed appropriately. I found a great list of the top SOX compliance software solutions.

Implementing software that has built in checks and automatically comply with the SOX regulations can help alleviate some of the weight off of your (and your employee's) shoulders.  Modern businesses require many different financial applications, such as SAP Oracle, Workday Financials, and more. It can prove difficult to keep them all SOX compliant. 

Thankfully, solutions such as Pathlock, can help monitor all of the data from these applications, to monitor that data for segregation of duties (SoD) exposures, business process exceptions, or IT general control failures. It tracks and logs all suspect behavior and generates reports that are suitable for SOX requirements.

Not only can it find and isolate these types of violations, Pathlock can also take action immediately when it detects suspicious activity by blocking transactions, masking data, sending alerts, or ending sessions.

When the stakes are that high, no business can afford to cut corners or take risks with their SOX compliance. And the easiest, safest way to ensure these requirements are met is by implementing SOX compliant softwares that are made to watch for and correct any problems before they turn into bigger problems. 

I still have a lot to learn about the SOX act and SOX compliance, applications, and software, but I am thankful I started getting informed and taking action before it became damage control instead of damage prevention. Never take unnecessary risks with your business. It is much too important.

If there are pertinent facts about the SOX act or SOX compliance that I may have inadvertently omitted, I would be very glad to be corrected. I am always willing to learn and improve on my shortcomings. And I want to have the most informed views I can to share with my readers. I think the sharing of knowledge between strangers is one of the most useful tools we as a people have, and we should start making better use of it.

Wednesday, August 18, 2021

A New Perspective

When you live in the same town most of your life, you start to see things as "just the way it is." It can be hard to shift perspective. For example, our state is one of the most popular destinations for things like Spring Break and Bike Week. And we also have Biketober Fest, which is coming up fairly soon.

As a resident, parent, and driver, I can't say that I look forward to this event. I don't ride a motorcycle, so I tend to view it is more noise, more traffic, and more crowds at the stores and restaurants that I patronize. None of those are particularly appealing to me.

The thing is, that I can get so wrapped up in the ways that it might affect me, that I sort of become numb to the fact that a lot of bikers end up in danger. There is always an influx of traffic accidents during those events. People's lives forever changed.

Motorcycle Laws in Florida - Jones Law Group

It got me thinking about what happens afterward, when Biketober fest is over and I move on with my bike free life. So I wanted to do a little research on accidents. What I realized is, that if you are in a motorcycle accident, it can be very important to have someone on your side. Legal representation that has experience and puts your interests first.

I found a motorcycle accident lawyer in Tampa that I think really fits the bill. KF&B can help take care of all the stressful legal matters while you just focus on recovering. There is so much peace of mind in knowing you don't have to worry about fighting insurance companies or trying to gather evidence yourself.

It can be especially difficult to navigate motorcycle accidents in Florida because it is one of the few states that does not require motorcycle riders to carry PIP insurance. KF&B still know how to navigate the process, communicating with the other party's insurance to ensure all your damages get paid, along with medical expenses, lost wages, pain and suffering, property damage, and whatever other costs may be necessary. 

Our family has never been in an accident, thank goodness, but I still find it very good to be prepared for such things, and I find the process quite interesting. We have needed to take legal action before, and having a lawyer that is specialized in the particular area makes all the difference. They have done this before. They know what to expect and have the experience to handle your case with confidence.

So, if you or someone you love rides motorcycles or needs an accident lawyer, I suggest doing your research. But I just thought we could all use a reminder to try to see things outside of how they affect us. We have to look out for each other more and have more compassion and understanding. We're all in this life together. We need to act more like it.

And, as always. Stay safe out there. And stay kind.

Pride LBTQ+ Makeup Tips for Your First Pride Event

Prepare your skin

One of the essential things to do before applying any makeup is to ensure that your face is ready. The first step is always to clean your face to remove any residue of dirt, oils, or any left-over makeup. Cleaning your skin well will help it glow and will ensure that you do not have a nasty breakout of pimples due to clogged pores. Once that is done, the next thing is to apply a face primer. This will help even out the surface of the skin and thus grant you a smooth appearance.

Use the right foundation

To achieve a polished look, you must select the right shade of foundation. One of the frequent skin mistakes that people often do is getting the wrong shade of foundation. Getting a shade that is either too dark or too light will leave your face mismatched, as compared to the skin on your neck or the hands. If in doubt, consult a professional who will help you pick out a foundation that suits your face nicely. Always remember to apply it evenly.

Select the right eye shadow

Pride events often give you the freedom to experiment with a lot of bold colors, such as bright reds, yellows and blues, and even neon types. If you wish to, you can use makeup to compliment your outfits, along with other accessories such as jewelry, handbags, or statement pieces. Eyeshadow in particular helps a great deal, as it comes in different shades and colors. For your pride makeup, you can even consider getting glittery eye shadow which will help to highlight your eyes. 

Person Wearing Sequin Outfit

Line your eyes 

Eyeliner is a simple but very effective addition to your makeup. When well done, it will help to make your eyes pop and give you that extra confidence boost that everyone needs. We know it may be a little intimidating trying to do a smooth cat eye on both ends, but you can just keep it simple. You do not necessarily have to start with a bold extravagant look, but you can just do a single smooth line, which will work just as well. Do not neglect your eyelashes also, as they help to frame your eyes. There is a wide variety of extensions available that you can try out. If you do not wish to get extensions then you may just keep it classy with a good mascara.

Some random tips 

Always have wet wipes with you, as these are essentially good to wipe off any smudges on your face in case you need to retouch your makeup. Put on waterproof makeup, as this will help it last longer throughout the day. Carry a bag of makeup essentials like a compact or lipstick, as these often come in handy when you need to redo your makeup or help another person out. At the end of the day, no matter how tired you are, ensure that you wash it all off, and moisturize for healthy, glowing skin.

Tuesday, August 17, 2021

Health Hurdles

Some of you may have noticed that in the past few months I have been very scare with posting here. I am sorry for that. There are several personal reasons that have kept me from being able to work. I am not able to share all the circumstances, but I can mention that I have had to go out of state for a while.

I had to spend some time in New Jersey, where my mother in law lives. She is in increasingly poor health, both physically and mentally, and now requires 24/7 care. Whenever we are able to be with her, I am her primary caregiver. In our absence, she has home health aides that stay with her around the clock.

Still, it seems that she will need even more care, that she may only be able to get in a live-in facility. This is obviously a huge decision for many reasons. Of course there is her health and happiness to consider. Those may be conflicting in this case. She would prefer to stay at home. But she is not really in a sound mind anymore, so she has a power of attorney and a healthcare proxy that can make these decisions in her best interest.

Of course, as much as it should not be a factor, financial matters also play a role in what options we    explore. My mother in law's health is the most important thing, but we need to do a lot of research and find a place that is, first and foremost, trustworthy and secondly that is covered by her insurance, or is worth the cost of going outside of insurance.

I have never needed any expertise in this area, so I have none. It is quite a tedious process and it can feel very overwhelming at times. I have done so many searches that words hardly seem real. Google, of course, medical articles, care facility websites, hospice, AHM, and much more.

The Average Cost of Hospice and Palliative Care

Still, it feels like we are only at the very start of this, and the road ahead seems long and bumpy. Aside from how draining and time consuming this process has been, there is also a mental hurdle to overcome. It has become hard to get back to this blog and anything else without feeling I am being selfish and not doing enough. 

I just wanted to let everyone know why I have been so bad about posting, and apologize, but also to say that, while I hope to get back to more frequent posts, that I am not sure that I will be able to for a little while longer.

Also, if anyone else is (or has) also going through this, I want to send my sincere support. Really, we all have invisible battles every day, and if you are struggling or just not at your best, please know that I care and I am wishing you the best. And that just getting up and continuing to try is such a huge victory. Things will get better. Stay strong, but it's okay not to be.

Monday, August 16, 2021

Summer Sips

When I think of "summer" I tend to think of the two and a half month time period where the kids are out of school. But, though my daughter returned to school today, summer is still going strong. According to the calendar, autumn doesn't begin until net month. Living in Florida, though, we have a lot more summery days ahead of us.

It is very easy to become so focused on all of life's responsibilities that you forget to sit back and enjoy whatever moments you can. I find the best way to do that is to bask in the things you enjoy. Be it a bubble bath, taking a walk, making your favorite meal (or ordering it) binge watching your favorite TV series or movies, or whatever else brings you moments of peace and joy.

Sometimes you need just a little bit more than those. I am not the biggest drinker, but once in awhile it is just what I need to stop my mind from racing over the stress that comes with day to day life. When I do indulge in a drink or two, I prefer to find special varieties. Something unique, an experience.

Melvin Brewing has been great for that. They have a huge selection of wonderful craft beers. They have several wonderful IPAs and some great pilsgnar options, but I am a huge fan of the Killer Bees Blonde Ale. It is a light, honey flavored blonde ale. Smooth, clean, easy to drink. Low in alcohol content (great so I can enjoy a few). Just an overall fantastic drink that I would highly recommend to anyone. 

These wonderful beers are the perfect choice for cookouts, parties, and get togethers of any kind, as well as gift baskets and housewarming presents. Anywhere beer is appreciated, these will up the experience. The packaging is really lively, as well, and adds great visuals to the mix, which might not be the most important aspect, but it certainly does not hurt.

I really love these designs. They remind me a lot of street art or old school graphic shirt designs. They are so unique and have a ton of personality. It just makes the who experience feel like an artistic expression.

Whoever you are and whatever you do this summer, or fall or winter, I hope you take some much needed (and deserved) breaks along the way, and maybe have a nice beer (or three) to help you enjoy the down time just a little bit more. 

One last thing, try to keep in mind, as life keeps throwing curve balls at us, that we are all doing the best we can. If you can, try to find ways to help your fellow humans have an easier time. And, if you can't, please don't be one of the things making it harder on them. We could all use a little more compassion, especially right now.

Life is hard enough when we're not battling each other just because we have been conditioned to see the small ways in which we are different more than the endless ways that we are all the same.

Thursday, August 12, 2021

Welcome to Rocville comes to Daytona Beach!

I am so excited to announce that this year, for the first time ever, Welcome To Rockville will take place in Daytona Beach, Florida. This was supposed to happen in 2020, but with the pandemic postponing all live events, it will now be this year. As a huge fan of music and festivals, I am so thrilled to have such an exciting festival taking place so close to where I live.

The lineup is stacked! While, of course, the headliners are fantastic, I am super excited by some of the newer acts, such as Badflower who are quickly becoming one of my favorite bands of all time. They were the last band I saw before concerts were shut down, and they put in an incredible show. If you have the chance, I highly recommend seeing them live, especially at Rockville. 

Tickets are on sale now. https://rockville.frontgatetickets.com/

 

If all goes well, I will be covering the event this year, so stay tuned for all the amazing reviews and photos from the shows. Let me know if you plan to attend and who you are most excited to see.

Wednesday, August 4, 2021

How to Pack for a Summer Holiday

How Alexa Chung Packs for an Island Vacation to Formentera, Spain | Vogue
 

Whether you want to spend the weekend by the riverside, embark on a 10-day cruise on an island, or just touring Europe, vacations are exciting. They give you the needed space from your daily routine and the stress that comes with it. You also get an opportunity to unwind and spend time with friends, family, or your partner.

Packing for holidays is not as refreshing as the moments you will spend during the vacay. It actually calls for serious planning because you need to know what to wear on each day of the trip. Now, if you are an indecisive over-packer, this may be harrowing. 

But packing for your trip does not have to be a dreaded chore. We will share tips to help you pack for your summer vacay. You may also be interested in https://www.self.com/story/travel-anxiety-tips if you usually experience pre-travel anxiety. 

Tips for Vacay Packers 

Below are tips to help you prepare for your vacation this summer. 

Draft a Plan 

Every holiday is different; therefore, you will require a different wardrobe depending on the location you’re headed. Since it is a summer trip, you may want to pack some lightweight clothes. However, you must factor in the activities you will engage in when holidaying.

For instance, if you are on a beach in South America, you can’t enjoy the scenery if you are putting on a cheeky bikini that never stops riding up. Also, you will be unable to adore the astonishing Parisian architecture when your under-sized jeans are harassing your waistline. Therefore, you need to make sure that your wears are both stylish and practical. A pair of sandals, loose-fitting tee, and light jeans makes an awesome choice for casual summer vacays.

Do Not Come Prepared for Everything

Trying to pack for all circumstances you may encounter is a trap that leads to over-packing. Most times, you discover that you end up not using 90% of the things you packed. Trying to take enough outfits so you will be ready for any activity or weather condition results in a suitcase that you will need help to pull around. You will also need to dig into it to look for items you want to use.

Yes, we know it is good to come prepared on any trip, but you should only take what you need for the summer season. You can also pack some essential clothes that you know will not malfunction unexpectedly. You can check out Pampelone vacation wear to find stylish summer outfits. 

Wear a Different Travel Outfit 

We previously said you should not over-pack, but you need to wear a different outfit when you are flying or driving. You can’t be wearing the leggings you wore on a four-hour bus ride to dinner when you finally arrive at your destination. No matter how clean the bus was or whatever means you came by, the entire traveling process is a bit dirty. It will also leave your clothes slightly wrinkled and feeling gross. 

You need to make sure that you travel in clothes that you dedicate to that purpose. Also, ensure that the travel outfit is extremely comfortable. You can wear a tank-top or a tee with a pair of comfortable jeans or leggings. You may also want to have a hoodie or lightweight jacket while you are in transit. You never can tell how cold your plane or bus might get. 

Throw in the Basics
What To Wear To HIGH Seas — PinkStone

When you start packing your bag, you may feel overwhelmed. But you can lay a foundation with the basic items you need. Fill your box with basic tops, shorts, jeans to mix-match on different occasions. Also, mix in some skirts or formal dresses for trips to fancy restaurants or nights out. 

Add Some Focal Points 

Your summer vacation outfits should not be boring. You want to look different every day because the images will be immortalized in vacation photos on your social media accounts. Bring your unique piece and some accessories as focal points to match your classic basics. Statement jewelry, patterned blouses, sun hats, and fashion scarves work wonders. 

Choose Your Shoes Carefully 

Get a mix of comfortable and supportive sandals and tennis shoes. You can pack just a pair of fancy shoes. Also, a pair of wedge heels is versatile and goes with several formal outfits. You can watch this video to learn how to choose shoes for summer vacation. 

Conclusion 

When packing for your summer vacay, don’t stress. Stay simple and select chic outfits that will also be comfortable. Let your worries take the backseat to the fun activities you will enjoy on the trip.

Thursday, June 17, 2021

New Insights from Dr. Shelton Zenith Labs

I care a lot about my health. Though I struggle to stay consistent with my diet, personal care, and fitness efforts, they are still very important to me. I have been trying to put more time and effort into my self-care routine and invest in myself more.


I have also recently begun to question if the reason I have so much trouble sticking to my plans is that they are not the proper ones to suit my body's needs. I focused on visible results (i.e. things that would make me lose weight, above all else). Not being hungry in the process was the next most important factor, but I have never given much thought to if it was the smart choice or if the plan met my needs in all aspects.


It can be very hard to find good, knowledgeable, and reputable resources to questions about health. For example, being on keto, I follow many "rules" though I never took the time to research each aspect individually. Many people who are doing keto do things like egg fasts (eating nothing but eggs with only adding fats and possible cheese for several days at a time).


Obviously, that sounds a bit extreme in general. but eggs are healthy, or so we are told, especially on keto. I never really worried that 6 eggs a day (or more, which seems to be the standard for an egg fast) would be bad if you are not doing that along with other foods to cause overeating. 


However, I recently saw an Instagram article by Dr. Shelton Zenith Labs that says that, while eggs are healthy, they should be limited to about 7 per week - or one per day. In that case, eating 7 a day, for multiple days at a time, becomes more concerning. 

 

 


Dr. Shelton has many other very informative articles, as well. While it would be unwise to consider information only from a single source, I found that his editorials are a great place to start. 


He has an article "Top 5 Tips for Better Sleep" that I found interesting. While I was already aware of my aversions to light and certain sounds when trying to sleep, I hadn't realized that cold showers are a good way to induce sleep. In fact, I believed the opposite. I had always assumed the cold would be "shocking" and make me feel more awake. And I always relate hot showers or baths with relaxation.


It is so interesting to discover things you once held a contrary belief about. It's like an "aha" moment. I am really enjoying the feeling. Though I hate to be wrong, I am always open to learning new things. As a matter of fact, I crave that. I never want to be idle or too stuck in my ways.


I would recommend that anyone pursuing any sort of diet or fitness plan take a deeper look into the guidelines they follow and research the origins and benefits (or negatives) of each practice. Stay healthy. Stay safe. 



Friday, May 28, 2021

Celebrate Moms All Month Long

Mother's Day has come and gone, but that doesn't mean that we should not be appreciating mom today and every day. Moms dodo so much, all too often sacrificing their own health and well-being in the process.

Self care can be so hard. Thankfully, Superior Source Vitamins makes it a little easier. I hate vitamins, normally, because I hate pills, but these things are so tiny! 


They are not actually "pills" they are micro tablets. They dissolve fast. It makes taking them so much easier. Since you can take them (easily) without water, you can keep them in your purse or use them any time while traveling, work, etc. And, it makes them more effective, too! Less time breaking down the capsule, more time getting to work in your body.

I just got a bunch of great vitamins from Superior Source, and I am actually excited about this part of my wellness routine now. That is saying a lot.

If you want to try these amazing supplements, they are available at iHerb, Lucky Vitamins, and Amazon, so there are several simple ways to get a hold of some. I love the convenience. Sometimes, great products are only available form one site, and that can sometimes be limiting

But, Superior Source Vitamins has also been generous enough to provide us with a giveaway, for one lucky winner. The prize will be the same great bundle that I received: Zinc Plus, Just Women’s Iron, Coenzyme B Complex, Melatonin, K2 MK7, and Biotin.

No mater who you are trying to win this lovely supplement bundle for, they are sure to appreciate it. And you can appreciate knowing the person you love is taking a little better care of themselves. Or you can win it for yourself. We can sometimes forget it is okay (more like vital) to take care of ourselves and not just others. 

You can enter via the Rafflecopter below. Good luck!

*Though I received these items at no cost to facilitate a review, all opinions are 100% my own.*


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, May 24, 2021

Personal Training

My health, diet, and weight are some things that I write about quite regularly on this blog. The main reason for that is simply because it is a large part of my daily life. During the past year, thanks to quarantine and everyday stress, and who knows what other variables, my willpower has not been very strong.

I have struggled greatly with sticking to my diet plan (keto). I have gained back some of the wight I had loss and stalled where  should have been continuing to lose from the lack of adherence to my plan. Additionally, I have not been making any efforts toward exercise, which is something I plan to correct.

I have an incline trainer, that I used to use. Now, it is just an expensive storage space, as, due to lack of actual storage space in our home, it is home to chests of clothing, boxes, and more. It is not the standard, article of clothing slung over it, as one would assume when the picture an abandoned exercise machine.

Still, though it is hard to find the space to move the offending clutter to, I miss that machine (as much as one who hates all forms of exercise can miss such a thing). I have also considered taking simple walks around the neighborhood, but the heat here (in Florida) is volatile, and I have literally blacked out from it more than once. 

So, for me, indoor workouts seem to be the way to go. I am starting to think that a personal trainer may be a good idea. I have been doing quite a bit of research on the subject. In so doing, I found a lot of great information on how to become a personal trainer


It is strange, I never actually considered how one would do such a thing before now. For some reason, I assumed it was just something you could do if you were good at fitness and had the means or drive to take on clients. Little did I know that there is a certification course that one should take. There is a personal training institute right in my own state. Not only my state, but the closest metropolitan city; quite close to where I live. 

While I obviously am not the kind to ever become a personal trainer, this helps me know what to look for when choosing a personal trainer for myself, if I decide to do so. And It helps me be much more confident in my choice knowing where to find certified trainers. Learning about the school helps me be more aware of what my future trainer should know.

I love that I learned something new. And soon, most likely, I will be learning a lot more and getting healthier and more in shape in the process. Another thing I am working on, though, is loving myself no matter what kind of shape I am in. That one takes a lot more work, but the reward is greater too.

Tuesday, May 18, 2021

Financial Fallout

I have been thinking a lot, recently, about the pandemic and the impact that it has had on all of us. Of course, the tragic deaths and illnesses, which are terrible. but there are so many other challenges that have stemmed from this affliction.

There is the social impact, being kept from loved ones and unable to engage in our passions and hobbies. There is the division that comes from some of us having to endure isolation longer because of those who don't care enough to take it seriously, thereby extending the need for it.

We may have, hopefully, gotten past the panic buying and the shortages that created, but we are still seeing reduced availability of necessities, as well as higher cost for the items that are available. There would already be very hard, but it becomes especially straining when jobs have also be reduced or altered to fit the new distancing practices or simply cut to keep profits higher for those at the top while the economy (and their revenue) takes a hit. 

Most of these businesses could still afford to pay their employees, but chose not to 'sacrifice' a fourth yachting in favor of keeping food on the table of the workers who make all of their wealth possible. Thankfully, one potentially positive thing to come in the wake of this tragedy is workers may be starting to finally refuse to allow poverty wages to continue.

There has been an increase lately, of unemphatic companies not being able to fill positions. When demand for lumber exceeds supply, plywood increases in price by 700%. When demand for labor exceeds supply, companies complain that no one wants to work. People are starting to see where the real issue is, and refusing to enable that kind of dehumanizing treatment.

Still, as noble and necessary as this revolution is, it can be extremely difficult to stay resolute in the face of poverty. When you have a family to care for, or even just care for your own well being, it is sometimes a choice between taking the bad option, or standing on principle at the cost of going hungry, or worse.

We are all in this together, or we should be. So if you are struggling, reach out to the people close to you. They may have side work for you to do, such as pet sitting, a painting or yard care job, etc. Maybe you are a great baker, and can use your talents to do cakes or treats on commission. Your circle can be your customers or share your name and contact with those in search of such expertise. 


There are other resources, though I only recommend such things as temporary assistance, in last resort situations. Options such as hard money loans, which use collateral to obtain loans with bad or no credit. With the high interest rates and low value given to the items used for collateral, it is not something to be done lightly, but it is nice to know that if it ever comes to that, you have something you can turn to in order to make it through the storm.

Saturday, May 15, 2021

7 Reasons Why Networking is Important for Elevating Your Business


There is no denying the power a strong professional network can have on the success of your career. If you can make great connections, it can help you land a job faster and help you throughout your career.  

Networking is not about begging for favors, but it is a long-term beneficial relationship that you form with the people you meet. For example, if you run a moving business and join a good Moving Company Association, it can help you achieve new heights and gain inside strategies to run your business. 

It is important to invest in your relationships, whether professional or personal, as they pay you back in amazing ways throughout your career. Networking will allow you to stay on top of your industry trends, keep an eye on the job market, meet influential mentors, potential partners, and clients and get access to the necessary information to upgrade your business.  

 

Spreads Awareness About your Brand: 

When you start a new business, the first thing that you would wish is to gain more exposure and customers. Networking is the best option when you want to seek publicity for business or fame. 

When your company stands out more in terms of services and performance, it eventually opens more doors for partnership and opportunities. You can seek a professional's help to utilize networking strategies better and create more visibility for your brand. 

 

Gives Rise to New Opportunities: 

Besides giving your brand public exposure, networking also serves to be a source of new chances and opportunities. Many career-minded individuals have expanded their company with minimal efforts by opportunities opened for them through effective networking.  

You could meet your next big client in a business association. Meeting influential and successful business owners could give rise to new ideas and open clear paths for your career. 

 

Source of Knowledge: 

Some websites are made to address a topic and answer questions related to it specially. The same goes for some business associations that fall into your business category. It can serve as an additional source of information that can improve your career for the better. 

Getting involved with the same industry individuals gives you updated information on career trends. Not only this, you can get access to the knowledge whenever you need it. 

 

Improve Your Business Status: 

Not only is it important to provide quality products, but growing in status is equally essential to stand out among your competitors. Many top companies have reached their high level as a result of their networking efforts.  

Make sure to be careful who you end up making connections with within your business association. They play an essential role in upgrading your business status and making more growth opportunities.  

 

Reassessing Your Qualification: 

When you enter into your venture after receiving the required qualification, you may think it is the highest level of achievement. But when you look around, you may find people in higher positions with the same level of qualification. 

Education and certificates form the basis of your career, but networking is what gives it the height. With good relationships, you can enhance your knowledge and open more doors for opportunities. 

 

Support from High-Status Business Owners: 

You may face challenges in your career, especially if you are a startup business. Some hurdles may result due to lack of experience or lack of resources to run the company.  

Keep connections with the same industry high-profile individuals to help you manage your issues by giving advice and strategies to help you cope. Not only this, they can link you to reliable financial resources to receive the support that you need. 

 

Enhances Your Communication Skills: 

Networking provides you a platform to talk to other people and gives you a chance to represent your brand to other influential business owners. It allows you to practice your soft skills in real-time. 

No matter how far you have come in terms of your education, it is not entirely possible to succeed in your venture without the required communication skills. When you engage with other people, you become better at conveying your message. It is mostly beneficial for introverts who wish to advance in their careers and get out of their comfort zones.