Thursday, April 15, 2021

Being Sick is Not a Crime

I feel like I have touched on some aspects of legal issues and criminal defense on this blog at some point in the past, but I know it is not something that I preach on regularly. However I feel compelled to stand on my soapbox for a moment, so bear with me.

It is always possible to be falsely accused of a crime, and it is important to seek dependable legal counsel if that should happen. However, I am more focused on specific cases of baseless accusations. There are times when individuals make an illegitimate claim, and then there is the issue of a whole system being prejudice toward certain groups, painting them as criminals simply for existing.

One of the most prime examples of this is the mentally ill. Those with mental illnesses often end up in situations that are entirely preventable if they had access to the right care and understanding for their condition, which, make no mistake, is a real, physical illness that can almost always be seen on brain scans. Even when it may not be visible, it is always still valid.

Despite having real illness that deserve treatment and accommodations, they are usually left to fail by the system and sometimes by their own families due to lack of understanding. Being in that situation leads to other problems, like difficulty maintaining employment, which begets homelessness or possible risk of starvation, etc. This can necessitate 'crimes' such as theft or vagrancy.

Still the real crime is leaving these people without support and then acting like they are the ones who have failed society. Being sick is not a crime. No one attacks cancer patients, saying if they "just tried harder" they could overcome their medical condition. You'd never tell someone with paraplegia to "stop making excuses and just walk". Yet those with mental illness are always told to "just get over it" "try harder", etc. It's ableism.

I don't meant to rant or anything, but I have seen these things happen on a global scale and up close in personal experiences and it is never okay. There needs to be more ways to fight these kinds of things, and more people willing to admit that it is happening and that it is wrong.

I am always glad to see when others understand this issue. I noticed a tab while on the Mike G Law website that addresses mental health and substance abuse issues. Addiction is also a genuine form of illness, though too many people stigmatize it and deny that fact.

If you or a loved one is being charged with a crime over charges connected to mental health or addiction related matters, I urge you to seek out an attorney that will understand how that changes the situation and fight to defend you.


Don't forget to defend yourself and the people you love, too, though. When someone has mental health or addiction struggles, it can be very strenuous on your relationship with them, but remember that they are sick, and they can't just choose not to be sick. No one would chose to have such struggles and they are hurting to. Use compassion, always. BEING SICK IS NEVER A CRIME.


Tuesday, April 13, 2021

Good Times on deck

I have been talking a lot about home improvement lately. I think it is one of many the byproducts of the pandemic and being trapped at home more than usual. When you constantly occupy the same space, it starts to get a lot more boring. Additionally, when work expectations shift to accommodate the pandemic, it can leave you feeling unproductive. Home improvement projects can help with both struggles.

There are so many options to consider for home renovation endeavors. If you read my previous post you would know that we have been strongly considering bathroom renovations. Specifically updating our shower and creating an enclosure.

Aside from that, we don't have much else planned for indoor work, besides changing a few rugs and a bit of re-decorating. But I have a lot of ideas for outside our home. I think I also mentioned my plans to start a vegetable garden. That is something I have wanted to do for years, I just never wanted to take the initiative out of fear of failing. But the real fun is in trying and spending time working toward something and bonding with my children.

The outside needs a lot more work than that, though. Specifically we have an old, rundown wooden swing set. It is falling apart and not big enough (or save enough) to serve my children any longer. First, we will be removing that. Next, I plan to convert the space.

The most likely idea right now is a pool. We don't have enough room for an underground pool. I am not the biggest fan of above ground, because I like them to be level to where we will be walking and sitting. But I have been looking into other options and realized we can build a deck around the above ground pool.

The space we have available is right off the back porch anyway, so it would be perfect to build a deck that is joined to the porch by a small set of steps, essentially giving our pool area the below ground feel that we desire.

Now, planting a garden might be something I can handle (we will have to see when the time comes), but building a deck absolutely is not. Thankfully, I don't have to learn how to do it myself, I just need to know where to go to have it done right. Decks & Docks makes it easy. They offer so many types of construction and renovation services (which you can browse here). 

What catches my interest is the composite decking, which is sure to hold up better than traditional wood only versions for the harsh weather conditions here in Florida. Going back to that wooden swing set that is destroyed by excessive rain and scalding sun. And of course, railings, to make the deck safe for our children and my clumsy self.

arbor-decking_high

If you are in the same pandemic rut as us, not only will changing up your living space make the time you spend there feel less repetitive, it will also give you a goal, a sense of accomplishment to strive for.

Friday, April 9, 2021

Keyfactor Cloud PKI

If you have a (or are planning to start) a digital business, PKI is a vital component in securing your website. If you are new to the term, a public key infrastructure (PKI) is a set of roles, policies, hardware, software, and procedures needed to create, manage, distribute, use, store, and revoke digital certificates and manage public-key encryption.

The purpose of a PKI is to facilitate the secure electronic transfer of information for a range of network activities such as e-commerce, internet banking and confidential email. Even if you don't own or run an online business, digital encryption is can be very beneficial for all internet users, especially parents and/or teens. But when customers, money, etc are involved it goes from mindful to essential. It's something that has to be done.

If you're anything like me, that can be overwhelming. I am moderately proficient with technology and digital services, but I am not fully comfortable taking on such critical jobs on my own. Therefore, I always defer to professionals in matters like this.

Thankfully for me, Keyfactor cloud PKI services are built for enterprise and built and operated bu experts to adhere to industry best practices, ensuring a highly secure and scalable managed PKI combined with end-to-end certificate lifecycle automation.

 


Specially-trained and vetted Keyfactor PKI experts handle the day-to-day support and operations of your PKI, freeing up your team to focus on higher priority initiatives. There are so many features.

  • Continuous service monitoring and 24/7, 365 support
  • CA and CRL renewals handled by PKI experts
  • Patch management, vulnerability testing, backup and recovery
  • Unmatched SLA driven uptime and incident response time
  • Highly available issuing CAs with built-in Cloud FIPS 140 level 3 HSM protection
  • Real-time CRL infrastructure and monitoring services
  • Robust data backup and recovery services
  • Unlimited certificate issuance and no per-certificate fees

These are just a few of the services and features you will get from Keyfactor PKI service. One of the features I am most thankful for is the cost. It is more affordable than many other PKI solutions. This is because there is no expensive hardware to buy, no CA software to install, and no PKI maintenance fees. All the costs are included in the simple subscription.

But, of course, the best feature is the peace of mind that comes from knowing it is done, and done right, and the extra time and productivity that you can be afforded without having to stress over handling it all on your own. Those things are invaluable.

If you or someone close to you is planning to start a digital business, I would highly recommend doing the research on PKI services, starting with Keyfactor. You can put a price on the peace of mind that comes from knowing your information is safe and secure, but that doesn't mean you can't find the best value possible when you have the chance. 

If you are starting an internet business, I have just one last thing to say to you: You can do it!

Tuesday, April 6, 2021

Home Improvement Season

It is nearly the time of your where spring cleaning will start to ramp up. Out with the old and in with the new. I hate cleaning, as most do, but I always find myself wanting to re-organize my home and clear out things we no longer need. This year, though, since we have now lived here for 10 years, I am wanting to go further.

I am now considering larger scale projects like starting a vegetable garden and doing some home renovations. I would really love to do something extreme, like add a second story or knock out walls to expand the bedrooms or living room. While I think that is a bit too much for me to take on, there are still other fun, less drastic ways to make our home nicer.

One thing I have decided on so far is renovating the bathrooms. The toilet in our master bath has been malfunctioning for a awhile. The water continuing to run even when it should auto shut off. Although that is not a major issue, the model of low flow toilet we have is not as  simple to replace the floater and such as it is with more traditional models.

We could simply replace that toilet and leave it at that, but where is the fun in doing that? I have been looking at new vanities and sinks, shelves, lighting, and more. But what really excites me is the prospect of shower replacement

The shower that is currently in the master bath is wheelchair accessible, which is really cool, but it's not something we need. Having no lip around the edge increases the risk of water spilling out onto the rest of the floor, since they drain is only a few centimeters indented.

Max Home can renovate existing showers or build new ones or new enclosures. That is what I need, and enclosure. But they also have wonderful acrylic shower liners that can be overlayed the existing ones allowing a fresh, clean, modern style without tearing up the walls. Not only is that faster and less disruptive, it is also more affordable. 


Knowing that trained installers can do all the work for me makes the decision much easier. I am not the most DIY savvy person, so I always prefer to defer to the experts. Max Home even offers a five year installation warranty. Plus they offer no money down and 12 months no interest. That is pretty incredible.

In addition to a wide selection of shower improvement, replacement, or new construction options, Max Home also offers walk-in tubs. I don't necessarily need a walk in tub, but I still love the concept and would love to get one some day. For now, it is something that my mother in law needs, so I am going to get some quotes for her.

Max Home has multiple locations, so they can serve customers across several states. They offer free quotes, so if you are looking for any bath or shower renovations, you'd be wise to check out Max Home.


Monday, April 5, 2021

Why Screen Spline is Important and How to Choose the Right Size

You probably don’t often think about your window screens, especially when they perform exactly how they should. When a window screen is high-quality and does what it should, we get to throw open our windows and enjoy the fresh air and respite a clean breeze can give our home. But do you know all the components that go into ensuring your window screens work exactly how they should?

Screen spline is an essential piece of what makes screens perform their best. The screen spline is what holds the screen of your window firmly in place within the frame. Without it, a window screen can easily begin to sag, pull away from the corners, or worse, simply be blown away leaving your windows wide open and unprotected.

Screen splines come in a wide range of types and sizes to ensure a very precise and accurate fit of your window screens within a frame, and each type of spline has a specific purpose. That purpose varies according to different window components. So, both understanding why it is important, and how to choose the right size is also essential in keeping your home free of bugs, debris, and anything else that
your window screens are keeping out.

Finding the right screen spline when you discover your old spline may need replacing can be a bit of a challenge. Especially if you’ve never had to replace a spline or choose one before. Now that you know why screen spline is important, let's take an in-depth look at how you choose the right size and what types of screen spline is available.

The Different Types of Screen Spline

 

There are many diverse types of screen spline available to you for your window screens. One of the most common materials you will see screen spline made of are vinyl and foam. Vinyl is one of the most common types of screen spline. Vinyl, or polyvinyl chloride, is one of the world’s third-most widely produced synthetic plastic polymers, making this a long-lasting material to use in screen spline. A good choice, as the spline will be exposed to all sorts of weather and temperatures.
 
Solid core vinyl screen spline is a durable and flexible material. It works well to hold a screen tightly in place if it is the right size. 
 
Splining comes in rolls that look like electrical wire, except it is solid all the way through. 
Foam splining also comes on rolls, but the core is like a foam rubber with very small air bubbles, making it compressible. Both solid vinyl and foam spline are available in sizes measured in decimals of an inch, for example, #140 would be .140 of an inch.

The most common screen splines you will encounter are:
  •  Flat screen spline
  •  Foam core screen spline
  •  Serrated spline
 
When it comes to choosing what type of screen spline to use, as a homeowner you get a bit of leeway, as to whether it is flat, foam, or serrated—each type does its job and does it well. Each type will hold a window screen perfectly taut.
 
When it comes to foam screen spline, a beginner to screen splining is afforded a little bit more leeway than in comparison to flat, solid vinyl. With vinyl, your spline size must be exact. Too small and your screens will not be held in place. Too big, and the spline won’t fit into the screen frame. With foam screen spline it can be compressed, meaning it can fit in many spaces where accuracy is a bit off.

How to Choose the Right Size Screen Spline

 

To ensure that you get the perfect size of screen spline, no matter what type you choose—foam, solid vinyl, or serrated, you need to know what size to pick beforehand. Luckily, there is an easy way for you to make sure you get the right fit. 
 
If you have the old spline from your screens, it is as easy as measuring the old screen spline.
 
  1. Using a tape measure, hold up the end of your old screen spline to measure the diameter or how thick or wide the spline is.

    Write down the number. If your screen spline is missing entirely or too brittle and rotted to be held, you can still find the diameter if you still have the screen frame.                                                
  2.  Using your tape measure, measure the gap, also known as the screen spline groove. The groove is a small opening that runs along with the entire frame that the spline is pushed into. Once you measure this, you have the diameter. Write it down.

Now that you’ve chosen what type you like and found the diameter you need, you are ready to go ahead and order your screen spline. Screen splines come in so many various lengths of rolls that it will be easy to order exactly how much of what you need for this important component to your window screens.

Tuesday, March 23, 2021

Superior Source Vitamins Giveaway!

In addition to Women's History Month, March is also National Nutrition Month. This is the perfect time to talk about self care and how it goes beyond bubble baths and reading breaks. So many of us get bogged down by all the pressures and obligations in the life that we can all too easily forget that we can't do all these things if we don't keep up health. 

This is certainly not a call out of anybody. It is a reflection on myself, because I am the worst at this. I have the worst sleep habits. I forget to drink water, I eat for taste or weight loss, not healthy nourishment. I don't exercise. And I don't take vitamins. 

Well, I am trying to work on some of these things. Specifically the water and vitamins. Supplements have always been difficult for me because I hate having to swallow pills. Small pills are better, of course, but I still hate it and I know I always will.

This is why I am super excited to have found Superior Source Vitamins. That and a list of other reasons that make them, well, superior.
 

  • No pills to swallow–large or small!
  • Non-GMO, Gluten-FREE, Sugar FREE
  • 90% smaller than regular vitamins
  • No chemical binders, No excessive fillers
  • Preservative FREE, Dye FREE
  • No water necessary
  • No coatings, No additives
  • No magnesium stearate or silica
  • Dissolves under the tongue for better absorption
  • Clean and pure–the way nature intended!
     

They are so small! I love it. The devolve fast and easily, it's so much better than traditional supplements. 

If you want to try any of these wonderful vitamins, now is the time. Not only are most of the Superior Source Vitamins on cvc4health.com already 25% off, but my readers will get an extra 10% all products on the website with this coupon code: BLVITAMINS10

As if that wasn't exciting enough, Superior Source Vitamins has been kind enough to sponsor a giveaway. One lucky reader will win an assortment of vitamins (a $120 value). I got this bundle to try and it's awesome!

The giveaway pack includes:

  • Vitamin B-12
  • Vitamin D3
  • Vitamin C –Tangy Orange Melts
  • Childrens' Echinacea & Zinc Lozenjets
  • Melatonin
  • Vitamin K MK-7

Use the Rafflecopter below to enter for your chance to win this awesome prize. Good luck!

*Although I received samples and compensation for this post, all opinions are 100% my own.*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, March 22, 2021

Spring Flowers

Like last year at this time, the world is still in an interesting state of limbo. It's ironic that while we have new reasons to be hopeful, like vaccines, the severity and length of the pandemic we've endured thus far has taken the hope that we previously had, that it would all end soon. 

But still, life goes in, even when we have to adapt. Spring is still a time of new growth. I love to celebrate this time with a positive change. Obviously, spring cleaning is a popular choice, and I try to put some effort toward that, but I hate cleaning and I want something that's brings joy.

In recent years I have been focusing on plants. I have never had a green thumb, but I can handle low maintenance plants. It is such a fulfilling thing, to care for something and watch it grow and bring beauty into its surroundings.

What I have had the most success with is cacti and succulents. They are great for indoor decoration. I have a few that are several years old and still thriving. It is a small feat for some, but for me it feels like an accomplishment. It also helped build my confidence to expand and add more plants.


I still don't know much about plants, though, so I seek guidance wherever I can, especially before deciding which types to purchase. The Plant Shed has been great in that endeavor. They not only sell flower arrangements and plants for all occasions, but they offer garden design and several other services. They are extremely knowledgeable and willing to help.

If you are looking for top notch plant and flower services I highly recommend checking out any of the Plant Shed New York City locations. I am confident they will be able to exceed all your expectations. I'd even classify them as one of the best NYC florists. 

Even if you are not looking for plants right now, I hope that you are sowing seeds of positive change into your life and always being a source of beauty for the world around you. As always, be safe and be kind.

Monday, March 15, 2021

Shop, Play, Win!

*This post is sponsored by Sivan Social. All comments and opinions are my own.*

 I am really excited to tell you about the new Shop, Play, Win! Monopoly game happening now at Albertsons stores.

Lots of amazing prizes are waiting to be won . . . Over 300,000,000 just for U® Cash prizes and money saving offers
  • A chance to win free groceries for a week, a month or a year
  • $1,000 Sweepstakes giveaway every day!
  • New Match 3 Digital Game- Over $100 Million possible prizes!

Aside from the Monopoly game, there are so many other reasons to sign up for the Ablertsons (family of stores) app.

Digital Product Offers, Rewards and just for U® Cash prizes are loaded directly into MyList in your selected store’s just for U® account. Download your selected store’s app to manage your rewards and take advantage of these additional features:

  • Grocery Rewards & Gas Rewards
  • Personalized Deals & FREE Items
  • Enter your registered phone number at checkout and save
There are other ways to play the Shop,Play, Win! game as well.

  • Open your Valpak envelope to see if you’re an instant winner of a $100 gift card and to get more details on how to win groceries for life!
  • Enter Savings.com’s #GoShopPlayWin gift card giveaway
Win a $100 gift card to spend at Albertsons Companies stores!
  •  RSVP to join the #GoShopPlayWin Twitter party at 10AM PT/1PM ET on Thursday, March 25th, to talk about the game and for even more chances to win a $100 gift card.

Join the #GoShopPlayWin Twitter party!
 

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Game tickets end 5/4/21. Must be resident of an eligible U.S. state listed in rules; 18+. Visit www.shopplaywin.com for full rules, incl. how to enter without purchase. Series MON-14. MONOPOLY™ & © 1935, 2021 Hasbro, Pawtucket, RI 02861-1059 USA. All Rights Reserved. TM & ® denote U.S. Trademarks. Hasbro is not a sponsor of this promotion.

Sunday, February 21, 2021

Being Prepared

In light of the entire earth being on the brink of collapse, new climate disasters popping up every day, it is so important to take all available precautions to keep your home and family safe. This can involve many things. 

Keeping a supply of emergency food and water, in case of a storm or other disaster that cuts you off form supplies is a really smart move. A stock of candles, batteries, gas (if you can), a tent, generator, first aid kit, etc, can all be the difference in survival should a tragedy occur. 

There are many other ways in which it is wise to be prepared, though. Some other examples are hurricane shutters, reinforced closest, waterproofing in basements, in case of flooding, and more. Another thing that can be very useful if you are in an area prone to earthquakes (or even if your area isn't, normally, since disasters are starting to occur outside their usual rage) is earthquake retrofitting


Seismic retrofitting can provide invaluable protecting in the case of siesmic activity. It is also a really good idea when looking into new constructions or remodeling, to go with a company that can add the earthquake preparedness measures in the initial work, so you don't have to do it again later on. CES 4 does retrofitting and new constructions as well as garage conversions and more. I have always loved the thought of converting a garage into more living space.

CES 4 has locations in CA and FL. While earthquakes are not a serious concern here in FL, I still want to look into safety options and maybe add some preventative measures. Hurricanes cause damage too, and we definitely get those, so I am interested to see what kinds of modifications are available for our home.

I had already been becoming more interested in preparedness recently, but the impact of these winter storms in TX and other more southern areas has made me even more motivated to make sure our family is as prepared as possible for any impending catastrophe. It is always better to be prepared and not need it than to need it and not be prepared.

My heart goes out to all of those who are suffering currently. I am sorry that local and national public servants have let you down. I wish we lived in a world where all basic human needs were met and lives were placed over policies and profits. It is heartbreaking that it is not the case, and it is so easy to feel defeated in the face of such things. But we can still make a difference and still help one another, even if the scale may not be as grand as we wish.

As many heart-wrenching stories as I have seen some out of these disasters, I have also seen many inspiring things as well. There is so much suffering, all over. But there is always more good in the world than we are shown. It is important to focus on finding the good and being the good. Be safe, everyone.

Plan for Tomorrow with Benjy Grinberg

With the world being so upside down right now, it is so easy to forget about planning for the future. It is so easy to get wrapped up in just surviving, living day to day and getting through this pandemic, that you lose the drive to move forward. It is understandable, and just getting by is a huge task in itself. If that is all you can do, that is more than enough.

However, it is important, if you can, to still make plans and work toward the future. Not only can it help give you hope in the present, something to look forward to, a semblance of normalcy, but one day, when we do come out of this, it will be very important that there is still a place for you. That comes from planning in the present. If you wait until this is gone to make plans, the ones that didn't wait will all be ahead of you.

This can be in anything, really, career moves, starting a business, anything. But I think it could be most important in education. There are deadlines for applications and things that need to be done now in order to have a place for later in the year and sometimes even the following year.

It is especially important in terms of financial assistance. There are only so many scholarships available, and there are many students vying for them. They are not only available through universities, though, or other obvious sources. Be sure to look into all the options for aid, even smaller ones.

For example many businesses offer scholarships from a couple hundred to a couple thousand dollars. One specific example is Benjy Grinberg, who offers a $1000 scholarship. There is a form you can fill out right on his website. It requires a short, 750 word, essay explaining your passions and ambitions. The specific question is: “What is a passion or hobby of yours, and what role does it play in your educational journey?”

I love the question. I've always thought that stats and figures were not a true measure of a person, even in things like education. Getting to know the heart, passion, and character of someone is far more important, in my opinion. No one changes the world with intellect alone, it takes a desire to make a positive impact.

The only requirements to apply for the scholarship, aside from submitting the essay, are being a high school student accepted to a college or university, or being currently enrolled in a grad or undergrad program.

This is just one of many options available. Make sure that if you are a student or know a student, you look into every possible source for scholarships and financial aid. There are also grants that many people can qualify for.  

Remember, it is important to keep working toward your dreams and goals. These trying times will not be around forever and a solid plan for the future will ensure that you are thriving once it passes. But, again, there is nothing wrong with just surviving, either. And if you do fall behind, it's not the end of the world. You can always catch up. Besides these classifications of "on target", "behind" are all actually arbitrary, and all that matters is that you are in a good place.

I wish you all the best of luck in any goals you are working toward. Stay safe and remember to always be compassionate.

Tuesday, February 16, 2021

Renting? What You Need To Know

 If you are looking to rent an apartment, there are many factors that need to be considered. Of course there are the ones that everyone knows, like setting a budget and making sure to look at the place before you make a decision. But there are a few other things that are equally important and sometimes overlooked. 

It is very important to read the lease and ask questions. Make sure you know exactly what is expected of you and of the property owner or property manager. For example are household repairs your obligation or is it the responsibility of the owner. 

Most times, with rental properties, standard repairs are the duty of the owner. So if your water heater breaks down, you call them to take care of it, instead of having to handle it yourself. That is one of the main perks of renting.

That's why it is important to be clear on those responsibilities before signing the lease. There can also be expectations set for you, the renter, such as no pets, no smoking, must maintain your yard/grass a certain way, etc. Making sure the benefits are equal/greater than the drawbacks is pretty important.

Another vital tip is to know the value of property in the area. Just because you might find something you like, in your budget, that still does not necessarily ensure you are getting a good value. Renters can overpay for a couple reasons. One is desperation. That one is tougher to avoid. If you need a place quickly sometimes you might take something less than desirable just to secure something.

Sometimes security deposits play a role in this. Most places require first, last and security, but some don't. So a place that requires only the first month and a small security deposit might make all the difference. A person may need to accept a place that is more per month simply because the initial move in cost is more affordable. A lot of people are privileged enough to not understand that. 

Another reason people overpay, though, is simply because they are not well enough informed to realize that the cost is too high for the area and/or size/quality of the property. In this instance, the best course of action is to use resources to research ad become informed.

I recently learned about Zumper and it is a game changer. Not only does it show you the average rent in the specific city you are looking to rent in, but it allows you to sort by location, bedroom count, pet policy, or even amenities. You can search houses, condos, apartments and even rooms for rent.

I am not currently looking to rent, but I wanted to compare nearby cities to our city. According to Zumper, the average rent for a 1-bedroom apartment in Miami, FL is currently $1,575. That is higher than our city. So if I had tried to look for rentals without researching, I would automatically assume that all the places were overpriced. That is why being informed is imperative.

If you are looking to rent you can submit digital rental applications and credit reports. With real-time alerts, you will always be viewing what is actually available, and you can get alerts to be the first to know when new listings are added.

Being informed is always the first step in any endeavor. And the best way is by utilizing all the resources available to you.

Tuesday, February 2, 2021

Under The Barnyard Light - Book Review + Giveaway

Most of you probably know that book reviews are not a huge part of my repertoire. So that makes today an exciting chance of pace. I recently received a cop of Under The Barnyard Light. It is such a lovely children's book.

I adore this book for several reasons. The most prominent reason is the beautiful illustrations. To me that is imperative for a kids' book. The story is very sweet, and the subtle rhymes are great to make it interesting, without it being too much.

I really like that there is not a huge underlying theme to the story. Though, grand lessons can be a really good thing, too, most of the time. Sometimes you don't need to learn a lesson. But I also like how this has a very organic way of highlighting responsibility for children. It's not being 'taught' -- instead it's just shown. 

Not that this is generally an important factor, but I love the size of this book as well. Not only the length, which is fairly short, making it great for not losing a child's interest, but the actual dimensions of the book. That and the hard cover make it the perfect "table book". That also makes it good for parents reading it to a child, so both can see well.

All else aside, this is just a sweet story about a young girl and her beloved animals. It is enjoyable for children while not being grating foe adults. What a magical book for families to enjoy together.

If you think this is a book that your family would enjoy, you can enter to win a copy, via the form below. Good luck!

Monday, February 1, 2021

Hair Units - Things You Should Know

 C:\Users\De Vine\Desktop\1-Chimerenka\pexels-dmitry-zvolskiy-1805600.jpg
 
If your hair is thinning or going bald in certain places, a hair unit might be the best option for you. However, there are some important things you should know about this attachment before getting one. So, without further ado, let's get right to it.

 

What Is A Hair Unit Anyway? 

 
A hair unit, also known as a man weave, is a modern attachment designed for people with hair loss problems. It can be made from either real or synthetic hair. 
 

What Are The Benefits of Getting This Attachment? 

Things like alopecia and pattern baldness aren't fun, especially if you are still quite young. We all consider baldness as a sign of ageing. Going bald at a young age definitely doesn't help matters. With a wig unit, you can cover up any signs of hair loss. This will help you feel more confident about yourself when you interact with other people. 
 

Human Vs Synthetic Attachments 

 
Different people will require different types of wig units. Most of them are made from either synthetic or human hair. Each type has different advantages and disadvantages. Here are some of them: 
 

Human Attachment Advantages


Looks Natural
These kinds of units are made of human hair (obviously). This means that your wig will have a more natural feel and look.

Adaptability
These wigs can be dyed, curled, straightened, or permed. However, it is advised that you consult your stylist before trying anything. A stylist will be able to show you the most effective and efficient methods of styling this kind of wig.

Durable
This type of wig is a lot more durable than its counterpart. It can last up to three times the lifespan of synthetic wigs. Different Textures This kind of unit comes in various textures. This makes it easier for you to find a perfect match for your real hair. Visit https://medium.com/@chenchen1529160143/3-top-benefits-of-choosing-human-hair-wigs-13079a95e994 to learn more.

Disadvantages

Difficult To Maintain 
These wigs come with the same hassles attached to having natural hair. You have to wash, re-style, and condition it regularly to keep it in healthy condition. 
 
Delicate 
This type of wig can get damaged easily from brushing and using certain styling tools. Always consult a stylist before attempting anything like this. 
 
Color 
Even though you may find a wig with the same texture as your hair, it doesn't mean it will be a matching color. The chances of finding a wig that matches perfectly with your hair's color are very low. 
 
Expensive 
Since it comes from genuine human hair, this kind of unit tends to be a lot more expensive than synthetic wigs. 
 
Heavy 
Human hair feels noticeably heavier than synthetic. However, this may not be a problem for some people. 
 
Affected By Weather 
These types of units can get limp, dry, or frizzy depending on what kind of weather you have in your area. Click here to learn more. 
 

Synthetic Wig Advantages 

 
Easy Maintenance 
Unlike its counterpart, synthetic wigs are easy to style and maintain. They also maintain their style and original shape even after being washed. 
 
Variety 
Synthetic units have a ton of different colors for you to choose from. This can be a great option for you if you want to try something different.

More Affordable
This unit costs significantly less than its counterpart. This is a better choice for those on a budget. 
 
Not Affected By Weather 
Unlike its counterpart, synthetic units retain their original style and shape in different weather conditions. 
 

Disadvantages 

 
Can't Be Dyed 
It's not advisable to attempt dyeing this type of unit. Regular dyes don't stick to the wig's fibers. On top of this, the chemicals can ruin the wig. 
 
Unnatural Look 
This one depends on the quality of synthetic wig being used. Lower-quality synthetic wigs often give off an unnatural shine. 
 
Short Lifespan 
 
Synthetic wigs have a much shorter lifespan than human attachments. 
 
 
C:\Users\De Vine\Desktop\1-Chimerenka\pexels-dmitry-zvolskiy-1570807.jpg
 

Frequently Asked Questions 

 
Can Women Get These Attachments As Well? 
Don't let the term “man weave” throw you off. Women can also use these attachments to help with hair loss conditions. 
 
Will Any Surgery Be Required When Getting This Attachment? 
Contrary to what some people think, installing this attachment does not involve any surgery. 
 
How much Does A Wig Unit Cost? 
The price of a wig unit depends on the type, style, and quality. However, units tend to cost anything between $200 and $700. It could end up being much more than this if you want to go for something like a dreadlock unit. 
 
How Long Do Units Last? 
This depends on the type of wig and how it was maintained. Synthetic units can stay for up to 4 weeks before needing complete replacement. On the other hand, if you have a human attachment and maintain it well, you can expect it to last up to 4 months or even longer. How Long Does It Take To Fix? The length of time it takes to fix greatly depends on the kind of unit that is being used. However, the average time is between 1 and 3 hours. 
 

Conclusion 

 

Overall, wig attachments are great for enhancing your look. These attachments can greatly benefit those suffering from pattern baldness. Keep in mind that there are different types of wig units. Each one has different pros and cons. However, if well maintained, you can expect them to last.

Valentine's Day Gift Guide

Welcome to the 2021 Valentine's Day Gift Guide!! I am very excited about the wonderful items that are included this year. 


KIDS

 

Mixaroo

Plush toys are always a staple for children's gifts, especially on Valentine's Day. There are always an abundance of bears and love bugs and whatever other heart themed animals. But Mixaroo is so much more. This is the perfect soft, cuddly friend to stay by their side the whole year. Not only is it a companion, it is a exercise in creativity. 
 
With removable ears, tails, hair, etc, the toy can be customized to the child's taste. And since they are velcro, it is easy to change it as often as the mood strikes. This toy is seriously adorable. It's one of my favorites this year. 




Big Feelings Pineapple

I think I just really love customizable toys. This darling pineapple has all the fun and nostalgia of Mr Potato Head, but re-imagined. It really puts a focus onto the feelings, so it is as much a learning opportunity as it is a great time.

I really love this because my son is on the autism spectrum, so he struggles with picking up feelings in others and also with expressing his own feelings. With Big Feelings Pineapple, he can learn to recognize the way emotions present in expressions. My son and my daughter both love this toy, and so do I. 


Vlad & Niki

I really love gifts that are practical and fun. These super cute soft blankets from Vlad & Niki are the perfect example of that. The prints are so vibrant and fun, and they are the perfect size for kids. They are perfect for cozy movie nights on the couch or a great accent to a reading corner. They would even make a great wall tapestry. 



MEN

 

Highland Titles

Do you ever feel like your significant other should be treated like royalty? Or, if not royalty, at least nobility. Luckily, there is a gift that is perfect for that. With Highland Titles you can make your partner (or yourself, or anyone you care about) a Lord, Laird, or Lady.

With Highland Titles you are purchases small plots of land in Scottland. Owning land there makes it legal for you to claim one of the land owner titles. With this proof, you can even change your legal documents to reflect your new title. My husband most likely won't go that far, but he LOVES being able to call himself "Lord".




Groovy Groomsmen Gifts

Groovy Groomsmen has a ton of great gifts for the man on your list. Specifically, the Woody Pallin Watch is a favorite of mine. I love wood watches, especially dark wood. This one can be customized with Initials, dates and Roles. If it's not for a groomsman or similar, the "role" section can easily be left blank or replaced with a nickname or short message.

This is a beautiful watch. It is very well made. Personalized gifts always hold a little bit more meaning, and this is certainly no exception. 



WOMEN

 GnL Accessories

Handbags are one of my favorite accessories. I have a slight (or maybe not so slight) obsession with them. I prefer larger, shoulder size bags and totes. The Althea Black Tote Bag from GnL Accessories is everything I want in a bag. It is so gorgeous. It is neutral but has enough accents to still be striking.

The size is perfect and the quality is amazing. It is named after the Greek Goddess of healing. In my opinion the name is so fitting.

The style and quality are not the only things that set this bag (and company) apart, though. It's the commitment to ethical, sustainable fashion. The bag and all GnL products are vegan, organic, cruelty-free, eco-friendly and fair-trade. Look good and do good. 


Bridesmaids Gifts Boutique 

I love gift boxes. And I really love personalized gifts, so this gift box from Bridesmaids Gifts Boutique is a fantastic choice. The Lets Stay In box includes a lace robe (in choice of 3 colors) and a 12oz insulated stemless wine cup (in choice of 5 colors, with personalization). The items come in a 10x10 gift box with white paper shred. The top of the box gets the same personalization as the cup, and it can be up to 12 characters. 

This is the perfect self care gift for any woman you may be planning a gift for. 


Number 4 Hair Care

Again, we are back to practical gifts that are also enjoyable. Enter No. 4 Hair Care. These products are amazing qaulity to leave your hair looking and feeling amazing. And when you look good, you generally feel better about yourself. So it is the gift of hair care, self care and self-esteem all in one. Can't beat that. 

This Heart Your Hair Box has it all, too. It contains 7 different amazing travel sized products: Hydrating Shampoo, Hydrating Conditioner, Fleurs De Temps Body Lotion, Reconstructing Masque, Super Comb Prep & Protect, Smoothing Balm, Non Aerosol Hair Spray. Plus packette portions of 5 other great products. 



ANYONE

Sully & Vanilla

Food gifts are always great for anyone. Everyone loves food, especially sweets. These confections from Sully & Vanilla some of the best I've ever had. Not only are the amazingly beautiful, they taste incredible. The Linzer Heart was to die for. But every single morsel was perfection. The only drawback is if you're trying to diet, you will surely fail with access to these delectable goods. But, it will be worth it.

Sully & Vanilla is women owned and offers a huge variety of treats in themes to match any occasion. Check them out!


GoNanas

Food again, what a surprise. There is a reason food makes the perfect gift for anyone, though. Food is not only a necessity, but it's an indulgence. Gifts that can be consumed are much more likely to be enjoyed than flowers that die or stuff that sits around and takes up space.

GoNanas is awesome because it's treats and a experience gift, all in one. baking, especially together, is a lot of fun, especially with amazing mixes that make it fool proof. In the end, you get quality time and a delicious banana bread that is vegan and gluten free, so it can be enjoyed by almost anyone, even many with dietary restrictions. 



Monday, January 25, 2021

Time to file!

It is that time of year. It is time, or nearly time, to file your tax returns. Even if you are not expected to owe many or any tax payments; Even if you are expecting to get a refund, filing taxes is not something most people look forward to. It is generally a stressful, tedious, process that very few would appreciate doing.

That is why so many people uses services to file their income taxes, even when it is often free or cheaper to do it on your own. Time is money, and saving time and aggravation, in addition to be sure it is done correctly (even the most intelligent and careful people can make mistakes in things they are not trained/skilled in).

Now, as unpleasant as it can be to file taxes once a year, there are many instances where the same types of tasks are required more often. Most notably is sales tax filing. When you own or run a business, you have to manage all things related to taxes. Including the taxes from sales and use, taxes taken from employee wages, and much more. And those things require monthly reports.

That is something that I, personally, would never want to handle on my own. I always defer to the experts when I am outside my depth, and that is almost always when it comes to data and figures. I am not a numbers person.

If you are one of the unfortunate souls that has to worry about sales tax nexus, or anything of the kind, I would highly suggest looking into a service to manage it for you. It is done so often on yearly income tax filing and yet so many business struggle to do all the work themselves. It seems counterintuitive. Work smart, not hard.

I really love it when I can find easy ways to ease the burden of mental and actual work that I have to carry. It is so surreal how sometimes saving yourself let's say, for example, an hour of work can actually make you two hours more productive. When you have the weight of a stress inducing task hanging over you, it slows down your performance. So by getting help for that one thing, you are actually improving two or more sets of tasks. 

I know it is sometimes difficult to justify the cost or just to take what you might see as a hit to your pride in admitting you need or simply want help, but it can be so worth it. While the situation is obviously not entirely similar, I will think of this example every time I try to talk myself out of getting help because I think it is not worth the cost.

The story is, the cartridge in our tub stopped working. It was the second time this happened. The part was under warranty, so we got that shipped at no charge. We're already doing good. But last time the plumber said the repair is simple IF YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING. That was the key part. Hubby and I figured to save on the cost of a plumber to just try it ourselves. Well, needless to say, it was a huge fail.

The cartridge blew out (whether it was only mishandling or the part was faulty I still don't know). With that damaged, there was nothing to stop the water from just flowing out the handle. We had to shut the water off. This was a Friday night. So we had to call an emergency plumber, they couldn't come until the next day. They cost more than the plumber we would have used had they been open on weekend or had we been able to wait. We even had to pay for a part, again, since they other one broke.

So, yeah, take it from me. Sometimes it is better to just pay to get it done right the first time. Seeking help is never something to be ashamed of. Sometimes not seeking it can be, though.

Tuesday, January 19, 2021

What Do You Do?

I don't know about you, but I feel like this is a question that comes up a lot. Whenever you meet new people, there s always that getting to know you period where they as the small talk questions. One of the ones that seems most common is, "What do you do for a living?"

I can see why that would be common, but, before I get on to the actual point of this post, I want to get on my soapbox for a moment about why that is not an ideal question, especially in the current state of the world. The bottom line reason is that it could be a sore spot for the person you are asking.

There are several reasons why this could be. They could have a job they are not proud of. As sad as it is, people still look down on certain jobs, even ones they rely on the use of (for example janitors and fast food workers, etc. Those jobs are essential and yet the very people who make them essential act as if it is some how something to look down on.

Other reasons could be the person has a disability that prevents them from working, or they have recently been laid off or otherwise are temporarily not working (like the closures for COVID). Basically, it is not a great idea to assume that someone is employed or appear to be using that as a form of judging them as a person as in a 'get to know you' setting.

Anyway, I digress. The reason I brought that up though, is because I have been asked that question a lot and I often struggle with what to say. My only source of employment is this blog. However, when you say "I am a blogger" people tend to be a bit confused, and then I have to explain it.

It seems the new, more familiar term is "influencer" so I have started to use that instead. And once people hear that, they almost always ask questions about what that entails. And, usually, I also get many questions about how to become an influencer.

I find that a bit strange, too, since most people don't do that with other jobs. If someone told you they are an accountant, you wouldn't ask them how you could become one. At least most people wouldn't.

But I still try to offer whatever advice I can. The first thing I always suggest is to be true to yourself. No one wants some fake image of you out there trying to use them for clicks or whatever. Be yourself and talk about things you really care about, otherwise your influence is just another ad. No one wants that.

The other thing I suggest is startup pr. Building a following that is genuinely interested in what you have to say is the most important thing. And that will come. But in the beginning, you need to find a way to get yourself out there, so your people can find you. This will not only help with exposure but it will help you shape what your "brand" will be. There is no shame in getting a helping hand.


And, even when the question is maybe out of place, there is still nothing wrong with answering "What do you do?" with "I'm and influencer."

Monday, January 11, 2021

Bright in More Ways Than One

The 19-20 and 20-21 school years have certainly not been easy. Not only have they forced a lot of changes to take place to the structure of classrooms and schooling in general, but in the midst of that there was also the ever present feelings of stress and fear that are just par for the course while trying to live during a global pandemic.

Of course, the things that have happened and the way things have happened is nothing that anyone would wish for, and the effects of these historic times are not only immediate. There will surely be much trauma and emotional (and possibly physical) scarring in the years and decades to come.

But that doesn't mean that there cannot also still be bright spots. There is always a light in the darkness, no matter how small or faint it may seem.

One of the positive things I just recently found out about is that graduation rates are up. I got an email from our county's school board letting me know. The 19-20 school year had a higher graduation rate than previous years. 3.2% higher to be exact. The rate had been increasing every year for the past 10 years.

The fact that last year, even in the thick of a global crisis that up heaved the entire learning process, students still continued to be excellent, that is just truly something to admire and find joy in. With that increase, the VCS graduation rate is now at its highest ever.

And obviously, graduating high school, in many cases, leads to heading off to college. Though if that is not the path for some people, that is absolutely valid. In fact, there is a lack of trade workers since college is pushed so heavily nowadays. College was meant to prepare you for a career, but it is not the only path, by far.

However, for those who are looking to attend college, there are many things to consider. One of the biggest factors, for many, is the cost. Taking out student loans at ridiculous interest rates that will take decades to repay is the least desirable choice. The most preferable option is to obtain scholarships.


There are many sources that these can be found. There is almost always a list of local scholarships available through the high school a student was attending. Guidance counselors should be proactive in making sure the student is informed of the options. But, if for some reason that does not happen, make sure you ask.

Some private business have scholarship programs as well. They are generally not full scholarships, of course, but every bit helps. And there are so many other avenues as well. Nancy Etz has a list of 12 scholarships that are available to inspirational young women, to empower them for the future.

No matter what tools you may obtain along the way, to help you reach your dreams, he most important will always be your own mind, your hard work, and your will to make an impact. You are the goal. You are the prize. The rest is support. Support is nice, it is necessary, at times, but it could never be a replacement for the intellect and passion that are unique to you alone.

Wednesday, January 6, 2021

Uncertain Times

The world we are living in today is a very turbulent place. There has been so much unrest and uncertainty and a lot more stress and hardship than anyone should have to face in such a short amount of time. It can be very scary. It can be hard to know what to do or where to turn and a lot of people are searching for any means of feeling safe or having a sense of control. 

I have always found that in difficult times it is best to lean on those close to you. And to, in turn, support them, as well. There is a very rare kind of strength that comes from knowing that no matter what else is going on n the world around you that the bonds that you share with others are too strong to be changed. It is like a beacon; a constant reminder of the fact that there are things you can always control, even when you feel powerless to change other things.

Of course, just loving those who love you, and loving everyone who is not out to harm you, even strangers, while very powerful, is sometimes not enough to give rest to an uneasy mind. Sometimes it takes other symbols. Sometimes you need a safety net. Be it self defense classes, survival training, a home security system, or any other physical asset that can help you feel protected.

I know that right now I see a lot of people starting to buy or consider buying weapons. Guns, mainly. That is not something I would choose, for a few reasons. One I would worry more about my children's safety, for fear of accidents. Also I have always felt that if I had to take another life to save my own that I would rather just let it happen, since I would not want to live with something like that on my conscience.

I am in no way judging those that do seek that as a safety measure or any personal choice in general. As long as they are not our using it as a threat, it is absolutely a valid choice for others. And it is, after all, a one of the rights set for us in the constitution.

The most important thing of you do chose a gun for protection is safety. That means doing research and making sure you know how to handle it safely, before you start handling it regularly. And it also means storing it safely and carrying it in a safe way. That doesn't mean tucked down the back of your jeans. It means an actual holster, designed to hold a gun safely. We The People Holsters is a good place to find that. And quick side not, they also have apparel and accessories. Like this Marine Corps Tumblr. Hubby was in the Marines.

Whether you opt for a gun, another weapon, security system, defense training, survival skills, keeping closer to your loved ones, or any other of countless ways to find a sense of security and hope in these trying times, what really matters is that you never forget that things can get better. They can always get better and it is up to us to not only keep that knowledge in our minds, but to actually work together, as a country, and a planet, to achieve that. It doesn't come by accident, it takes actions. Positive actions.

Be the change you want to see. And Keep the faith.

Saturday, January 2, 2021

Start on the Right Foot

In my last post I just did quite a bit of talking about my New Year's Resolutions. They are nothing crazy. All very standard. Weight loss, of course, like every year. And this year I wanted to add some smaller, easier to achieve goals. So I added in swapping natural beauty and personal care products for my usual chemical filled ones.

Another goal I have for this year is to be better about reusing things. I am not that bad at it already. In fact I will wear my things until they have holes. And then keep wearing them until it is risking indecent exposure. But I am not great at repairing things, so things that are too damage to function as is, often must be thrown out. Or at least, that is how I have always done it up until now. I want to change that.

I want to learn how to deconstruct clothing that is too small, and add extra fabric to make it larger. In the process it will create cool unique pieces. I have several things that don't fit but I love them too much to let them go. Being able to give something a second life is so cool.

And for the things I cannot learn on my own, I plan to seek help. I know that my sister in law was great and making her own bell bottoms with fabric sewn onto regular jeans. That is kind of the concept I have for my "too small" clothes repair, so I am hoping I can get help from her if I cannot figure it out on my own.

And there is always the option of just hiring a seamstress if it came to that. And that goes for other repurposing tasks, as well. Like when I want to reuse an old piece of furniture, I plan to have it redone by someone who knows how to do it. (I am not someone who knows how to do it, lol)

And that led me to think of all the other things I've wanted to fix but never could, like broken shoes. And I actually just found out that it can be done. And it is s not even that rare. I feel silly for not realizing this sooner, before I doomed several pairs of awesome shoes to a life at the dump, but high heel restoration is a real thing.


I am not sure why I am so excited to learn this, because I do not wear high heels extremely often, but I am very clumsy and rough on everything I own. So when I do wear high heels, there is a great chance that I will break them. Knowing that if I do, they can most likely still be saved, that is really reassuring. I like knowing things will work out even before they go wrong. Now, when I break my neck, that will be another story. But at least my shoes will always be safe.

I hope you will always be safe, as well. Happy New Year!

Natural Beauty With Amanda Jo of Organic Bunny

There is going to be tons of talk about resolutions in the next week or maybe month. I always pick the same one. Weight loss. But I wanted to do something different this year and make another one that would be easier to keep. Not just easier to keep, easier to do in general. Even if you stick to a hard resolution, it's still hard. But there are simple things that you can do that can also have a positive impact on you and on the world.

So, one of the things I wanted to start with is using better products. That's an easy one. Natural products are not only better for me, they are better for the environment. And, also, buying from smaller companies or sales consultants helps support real people instead of greedy corporations. So it's a win win.

I've recently found a few really good natural products that I am really excited about. First is Schmidt's Natural Deodorant. I love the Rose and Vanilla scent the most, but they have a wide variety of scents. They are all aluminum free. I have always stayed away from natural deodorant, because I had a few tries where the product didn't work well for me. This one is very effective. It keeps me smelling good all day. It's a keeper.

Another must have in my newly evolving beauty repertoire is Monsuir Lemongrass and Ginger body scrub. It's really strange that I fell so deeply in love with the scrub, because I am not the biggest fan of either lemongrass or ginger as far as scents go. Somehow, though, it doesn't matter. I adore this product. It makes my skin feel amazing and the scent is actually quite pleasing. And it's affordable, as natural products go.

My absolute favorite natural product I have found so far would have to be Moroccan Magic Lip Balm. It is so silky smooth, buttery, velvety. And word you can think of to describe the softest thing to ever grace your lips, that is what Moroccan Magic is. It never feels sticky, even if it is "drying out". It stays on for a long time, but it also soaks in, absorbing into your lips so that their health and moisture actually improve. I never go to sleep without applying this lip balm first. It really is a fifteen out of ten.

Though I have found several great natural items already, it was my resolution to make the switch almost entirely. That means that I have a lot more products to replace. Thankfully I just learned of Amanda Jo of Organic Bunny.

Not only does she provide reviews of natural and organic beauty products, her site is also a shop, so that the products can all be purchased easily, all in one place. It is so convenient. As I already mentioned, I need to replace a lot of staple items, still. So instead of searching for one place for my hair care needs and another for my cosmetics and my fragrance somewhere else, I can easily find a ton of great choices, backed by knowledgeable research and reviews. It's almost too easy to even be a resolution at this point.  But after the year I had (we all had, probably) in 2020, I'll take a fail proof resolution.

Friday, January 1, 2021

How to Choose the Best Beauty Brand?

Are you sick and tired of the beauty brands you are currently using? Well, your skin unquestionably deserves the best possible treatment, which is why you need to introduce certain changes.

Although your skin type is supposed to guide you through the shopping journey, the reputation and prices of cosmetic brands are worth considering as well. Established companies produce cosmetic lines that fit all derma types while using non-allergenic, safe ingredients. 

The following tips will certainly assist you in your decision. 

Know your skin type 

In order to make the best choice of beauty brands, buyers are suggested to know their skin type. It’s paramount for the one you select to meet your requirements in terms of derma type, as it’s the only way to prevent the cosmetic products from harming your skin. Visit this URL to learn about different skin types and how to care for each of them. 

Victims of dry derma need creamy skincare and makeup products, which provide enough moisture. Cream-based foundation, concealers, eye shadows, and lip glosses are believed to improve hydration and silky texture. Make sure to avoid oil-free crèmes, lotions, and serums, as these would only increase dryness and create lines. 

Women with sensitive skin should be particularly attentive when selecting a beauty brand. Cosmetic products should contain no fragrances, parabens, and other preservatives. These buyers should always look for non-allergenic makeup, moisturizers, exfoliators, serums, etc. Conversely, individuals with combination skin should purchase cosmetics specially designed for their type of derma or use different products meant for the other derma types. 

People struggling with oily skin are supposed to check whether beauty brands offer a line of non-oily makeup and skincare products. Given the excessive amount of sebum produced by their sebaceous glands, these buyers need products containing no additional oil. 

An important thing for women to remember when shopping for cosmetics is avoiding products that induce derma dryness and irritation. You aren’t required to purchase all cosmetic products from a single beauty brand. Most women use a certain brand for foundation, whereas another for eye shadow or lipstick. For guidance on the causes, symptoms, and signs of dry skin, check out this link, https://www.medicinenet.com/dry_skin/article.htm.

Check reputation

The reputation of beauty brands is crucial to consider, as it takes years for cosmetic companies to earn the trust of customers. Established brands are popular for their high-end makeup and skincare products, as well as for providing excellent customer service. 

In order to make a well-reasoned decision, buyers are advised to conduct detailed research into the market reputation of cosmetic companies. Unless the research proves customers consider a particular company trustworthy, there’s no point in investing in skincare products no one recommends. 

Make price comparison 

Another vital factor to take into account when choosing between various beauty brands is the price. The price range of cosmetic products is vast, speaking volumes about their quality. Generally, the cost is determined by the effectiveness of the product and the choice of ingredients. Makeup is supposed to provide remarkable coverage, while moisturizers, serums, and crèmes have to benefit the skin. 

Comparing prices is essential in order to check what the market has to offer. Even though high prices don’t necessarily indicate superb quality, these are still considered more reliable. In contrast, extremely low-cost skincare goods are best to be avoided.

Check the return policies

Return policies are worth inspecting before deciding on a beauty brand. These policies say a lot about the attention and care companies provide to clients by allowing them to return the goods in the event of low quality or a mistake on the part of the seller. 

Customers are supposed to get information about guarantees and return policies on the online sites of such companies. When shopping for organic cosmetics, such as lxmi organic products, make sure the brand offers a full refund. Customers are usually allowed to return the package in a thirty-day period to get a refund but they need to cover the cost for return shipping. 

Final word

Cosmetics should be chosen with the utmost attention in order to prevent dehydration, rashes, and acne breakouts.

Do not rush through the process to avoid regrets!