Sunday, May 10, 2020

Happy Mother's Day from TVStore Online.

First and foremost I want to wish all the mothers out there a very happy Mother's Day. Secondly, I want to, once again, rave about TVStore Online. Shocking right? I don't care if I'm predictable, I love TVStore Online.

My Mother's Day gift to myself was more Harley Quinn cosplay items. I can't get enough and TVStore is always there to provide my fix. This time, I picked up the Birds of Prey Cosplay Shorts to go with the jacket and shirt I got last time, the Daddy's Lil Monster Shirt, Puddin' Choker and Spiked Wrist Cuffs.


I especially love cosplay pieces that can double as regular clothing/accessories. Technically, all these pieces can be worn alongside regular clothes. One their own, none of them are too much, too costumey. The choker is the most blatant, but even that would be super cute with a simple outfit.

Of course, they have a ton of other Comic, TV, Movie, and Music themed clothing and costumes, too. As much as I tend to fixate one one or two things at a time, I am actually very invested in tons of different "fandoms" so there are so so many things that I want on there. It's really the holy grail for pop culture nerds like me.

If you want a Mother's Day gift for yourself, or any type of gift/treat for any reason at all, you are in luck, because TVStore Online is awesome and are providing a giveaway for you all. One lucky winner will receive their choice of one (in stock) item from TVStore Online. Just enter via the Rafflecopter below. Good luck and, once again, I hope all the mothers have a phenomenal Mother's Day. Be safe, everyone.

*Although I received these products at no cost, to facilitate a review, all opinions are 100% my own.*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, May 4, 2020

How to Watch Thousands of Hours of TV and Movies for Free


Sometimes we have to find ways to cut back on our spending, whether it’s because an unexpected bill has landed at our feet or because we’re saving up for a special occasion. Regardless of the reason, it means we have to find areas to reduce or completely stop spending money each month.

For many, a TV package is a significant expense. According to the Motley Fool, the average
American spends $96.18 every month on a cable TV package. Since most only watch around 11 of the almost 200 channels they get for that month, they’re actually paying $8.74 for each
channel that they watch every day.

This presents a really easy way to slash your spending since it is possible to get streaming services that offer up the same and similar content for much less. Many also offer free trials, so if you use one after the other you can get a lot of TV without spending any money. You can still get them on your big screens too using devices like Google’s Chromecast or the Amazon Fire range.

Watch Esports for Free


Esports have become incredibly popular in recent years, with some sources saying that more than 1 billion people watch esports competitions worldwide. They are essentially competitive video game leagues and tournaments, with huge brands like Intel, the NBA, Red Bull, and Dell all investing in esports.

You can watch a lot of esports and individual gamers on streaming platforms like Twitch, with live esports matches taking place all the time and plenty of replays and highlights available too.

Twitch also carries a lot of poker content, with both live and online tournaments streamed through its service. Poker fans can find even more coverage of live events and other special programming from PokerStars TV.


Watch Disney Movies for Free


Disney has decided to go it alone with its streaming service instead of relying on the biggest players like Amazon Prime Video and Netflix. It launched its Disney+ service in several countries recently and offers a free trial to new customers.

The trial only lasts 7 days so you should start it when you know you will be able to take advantage of it for the following week. You’ll then have access to classic films like Beauty and the Beast, as well as more recent releases like Toy Story 4.


Watch Broadway Shows for Free


The average cost of a Broadway show is over $100, and that doesn’t include concessions, travel or any other costs you may incur. Thankfully, you can watch them for free when using the BroadwayHD free trial.

Like the Disney+ trial, it only lasts 7 days, so be sure to plan ahead before you use it. Once signed up, you’ll have access to hours of Broadway classics, critically acclaimed shows, and even remakes of famous Shakespeare plays.

Watch British TV Shows and Films for Free


While not everything produced for British TV screens translates well for American and international audiences, a lot of it becomes a hit around the world. Shows like Downton Abbey and Doctor Who are loved by millions of people across the globe.

To capitalise on this, British TV companies ITV and the BBC have joined forces to create BritBox, a streaming service dedicated to British films and TV shows. Sign up today and you get a 30-day free trial, plenty of time to binge-watch Peep Show, Friday Night Dinner, and Plebs.


Watch Thousands of TV Shows and Films for Free


Then there are, of course, the more generalised streaming services, like Netflix, Hulu and Amazon Prime. They each offer a month’s free trial for you to watch anything in their extensive libraries at no extra cost.

They each have large collections of licensed content from major studies with films like Inception and TV shows like Family Guy. They’re all investing in their own programming too, with hit shows like Orange is the New Black, The Man in the High Castle and House of Cards all being original productions from these platforms.

You will eventually exhaust all of these free trials, but when you do the monthly cost of even a few of these combined will be significantly less than the average cost of cable TV, meaning you’ll be saving money way into the future.

Monday, April 27, 2020

The Extended Impact of COVID-19

We all know that COVID-19 is causing many problems all over the world. Of course, the most obvious being the health risk. While immunocompromised individuals and the elderly are more at risk for serious sickness and fatality, it can affect any age group or prior health status. Young, healthy people are still dying from this disease as well.

And obviously, that is in no way unimportant, but there are many other hardships that are being caused by this pandemic. Many are suffering financially because their workplace is "non-essential" and they are out of work. Many are essential and are having a hard time with still being at work while the schools are shut down.

There are shortages on toilet paper, paper towels, cleaning supplies, and basic food items. I live in "hurricane country" and I have never seen shortages like these. It's scary to wonder if there will be enough meat, or bread, or eggs in the stores. And the supplies that are available seem to be priced higher than they would otherwise be. Not price gouging or anything ridiculous like that, but no sales on toilet paper or anything. It's not really plausible to do that at a time like this. But it's definitely another strain on a budget that is already stretched too thin.

There are still more problems, especially with the boarders closing and the restrictions in place for travel. Immigrants are getting the worst of these restrictions. Many cruise lines are banning people based on nationality. People who hold a Chinese passport are banned from boarding their ships. That is a disgusting form of racial profiling that should have no place in our society.


I've seen quite a lot of that kind of bias. It makes me so sad. We should all be coming together (metaphorically) to lift each other up and help one another through an ordeal that we are all facing together. Instead we are a house divided against itself.

For example, I noticed that our local Chinese restaurant is closed. With stay home orders in effect it is not that shocking, however restaurants are essential businesses and most are still open, including the small, independent ones. Knowing how diligent the family that owns that restaurant are, I sadly suspect that the reason they are closed is because of irrational fear and negative reactions to them based on their nationality.

I hate that, on top of feeling isolated and cautious, and worrying about work and supplies and everything else that I also have to think about racism, or at the very least ignorance. We should be above that. And what is really strange to me is that some people seem to think it's not happening. Even if you haven't seen it directly, it is still happening. Jean Danhong Chen has some great articles about the impact of COVID-19 on Chinese nationals. They are really informative.

I know we are all just trying to get through this, but we can't truly be okay unless we are coming through it together. If we only look out for ourselves I don't feel like we deserve to make it. If we start hoarding and blaming and turning a blind eye to cruelty and injustice then what is the point? We can be better. We have to be. 

Friday, April 24, 2020

Shower them with Love

Times are so strange right now. I know we are all feeling the physical and emotional effects of social distancing, but some of us are impacted even more than others. People are unable to have their weddings, their funerals, baby showers. It's hard.

I recently saw a viral video of a mom being given a "drive by baby shower". It was so sweet. Her friends and family basically made a parade of their vehicles and each took a turn stopping, getting out and placing a gift in her yard. It was one of the sweetest things I have ever seen.

Now, I am not suggesting that everyone has to do such a grand display. I know that it is not always possible or practical. However, there are still ways to celebrate and support expectant mothers. The easiest way is probably to order gifts online and have them shipped directly to the mom-to-be. There are several online baby supply stores that are still shipping.

I never actually got a baby shower. I don't know many people and it just never really happened, but I know how vital they can be to some mothers. In times like this, especially, any semblance of normalcy is so reassuring. We need to be there for one another in all the ways that we can.

As rough as all this is, I think, or at least I hope, it will help us realize what things are truly important. For example, material things are great, even necessary in many cases, but they can never replace the feeling of love and companionship. So while sending gifts and supplies is a great help, the recipient will still be missing your company. Because you are the real gift in their life.

When this is all over, instead of going back to "normal" we should try to surpass that. Go into appreciating everything on a deeper level. No longer taking people for granted. No longer taking casual gatherings and simple coffee dates and movie nights for granted.

I am already planning all the fun "girls days" my sister and I are going to have. I am so looking forward to having nail appointments and lunch dates and "boring" hangout sessions in the living room.

And, though it's pretty far off, as in, not even a thought in her head yet, I may or may not already be planning her baby shower. It's never too early, right? Like I said, I will be making everything count from now on.

Monday, April 20, 2020

Sustaining Our Planet

As hard as this whole quarantine ordeal has been, it has opened our eyes, collectively, to the negative impact that humans have on this planet. Just form the short time that people have been outside less, pollution has started clearing, quite noticeable. This includes air pollution and water pollution.

Obviously, I am not suggesting that people remain locked away in their homes even when the pandemic is behind us, but we do need to start looking at ways to help the earth. Now, no one can confidently say that "there's nothing we can do" "our changes don't matter", etc.

We all need to start finding ways to lessen our footprint. Recycling, walking or biking to nearby places instead of driving every time. Carpooling. Reusable shopping bags. Reusable tumblers for coffee instead of disposable cups. Not using plastic straws, etc. There are many ways we can make a difference.


We, of course, need our leaders to make the big changes as well. One huge area we need to focus on is renewable energy. There is no reason that we have to pollute the planet just for power. Not when there are so many other options. I am not saying this like I am some sort of expert. In fact, I don't know as much as I probably should, but I do know it is necessary and completely feasible if a proper effort is made.

I've been looking a lot to Douglas Healy to learn more, as well. He shares a lot of great information that I would generally not come across anywhere else. There are always more resources to find, but he is a good starting point.

Global or at least national renewable energy is obviously the goal, but that doesn't mean that we can't, as individuals, move towards renewable energy on our own. If you have the means, if you own your own home and can afford to do so, installing solar panels to power your home is a really good step. If you can't go quite that large, you could do solar panels to heat your pool (if you have one).

There are hand crank flashlights and radios that you can use instead of consuming so many batteries. There are even solar powered device chargers, so you can charge your phone, tablet, etc using solar power. They are great for camping, hiking, etc, but are also just good for anywhere outdoors, like at a sporting event or on a picnic, or fishing. Anywhere you want to charge your device away from an outlet. Plus, you are saving electricity.

So, we all start doing our part. We keep making small changes, big changes, getting informed, campaigning for what is right, voting for the people who share our concern for the planet and our vision of a more sustainable future. That part is essential. We have to use our votes. We have to make sure that we elect people that are going to get things done and take us forward, not pull us back into coal mines and fossil fuel dependency. Be the voice. Be the change. And be well until next time.

Monday, April 13, 2020

Social Distancing While Self Employed

It's not new information that social distancing is affecting us all. So many people are out of work (for the time being, at least). That includes many self-employed persons, such as myself. While I can still write from my home like nothing has changed, I am still affected in the capacity that with PR firms and business and manufacturing centers being shut down, there are no products to send or no one there to send them.


I am trying to work on other things when I can, but things are hard all around. Of course, there are other self employed people who are even more severely impacted. There are individuals that have had to shut down completely, in some cases leaving them without any income at all. Not only that, but some still have expenses to pay for the business that they cannot even use at the moment. Things like rent, utilities, maintenance, security systems, ect.

For some, this loss of income is could be crippling. It's always hard to stay afloat when you fall on hard times, but when, as a country, and a nation, we are all on hard times, it can be nearly impossible. Some of the support systems we could otherwise rely on have also been shut down. We can just have a garage sale, or babysit or be a handyman for hire.

Not being able to be close to people affects us more than just socially, that's for sure. And as much as it's disheartening to have usual safety nets go by the wayside, I feel a slight cause for hope in the fact that there are still some ways to stay afloat.

While taking out a loan can maybe seem like a cold, impersonal way to keep your head above water during this turbulent time, it is obviously way better than the alternative. And, really, it's not so bad. I've looked into self employed loans pretty thoroughly. There are many options available, and interest rates are not terrible at the moment.

The most important thing is to not give up mentally. Don't let your drive or your spirit be hindered by these hardships. From the ashes we will rise. We will overcome, we will be wiser and stronger. We will skip "normal" and move on to bigger and better and more beautiful things. And for now, all we have to do is make it. Get through. Have hope. Be hope.

Another thing you can do, if you have the means, is support self employed people and small businesses. If you have local restaurants open and you're buying takeout anyway, choose local. If you're buying/sending gifts for anything, check out Etsy or other small businesses online. Even if you can't help financially, you can always support small business by sharing links or recommending them in (social distanced phone/text/email) conversations.

Support is priceless right now. It costs nothing to care about others and to life people up. We are all in this together (but at least 6 feet apart.) Be kind, stay safe.

Being Prepared for Everything

In the midst of all of this chaos and uncertainty in the world, it is very easy to get wrapped up and preoccupied. And it is all too easy to end up with tunnel vision, only seeing the risks and consequences of the virus. And as much as I wish that was the only thing in the world that could go wrong, the sad truth is that life still happens. Other health problems, other financial hardships, other injuries.

I had actually thought myself into this bubble and sort of forgotten all of that. I literally overlooked the fact that there are still other things that put my family and I at risk. One of which, I was painfully reminded of, by seeing the aftermath, is car accidents.

Even though people are going out less, there are cars on the road. Essential workers, people getting essential supplies (which is why I was out to see the sobering remains of an accident.) And while I hope it's not something that will happen to me, or anyone I care about, or anyone at all, for that matter, it's important to be prepared.


If you are in an accident, no matter what else is going on, you still need to focus on the accident, document everything, seek medical treatment, if needed, file insurance claims, and, if necessary, talk to a lawyer. If the other driver was at fault, you might need to take legal action. Just because there is so much going on with COVID-19, doesn't mean that other things are not still important.

If you need a car accidents attorney, find one. I recently found a car accident lawyer Tampa, and it's a small comfort to know where I would turn if I ever needed it. To have a plan in place in case the worst should happen. The preparation, no matter how minor, helps me feel less worried. We could all use a lot less worry right about now. 

Of course, not everything is doom and gloom. Being prepared is just smart planning. But there are many other things to plan for that are much more comforting. Like planning what fun things you will do when this is finally over. A spa day, a day at the park with the kids, a nice dinner out, all of the above. Planning on traveling, seeing family and friends that you've had to be away from for too long.

And you can also plan fun things while you are still in social distancing mode. Like planning a fun craft for each day, or a new recipe to try each evening for dinner. Sending nice, long, letter style emails to people you can't see in person. Playing dress up. Having a theme week (PJs day, crazy hair day, etc.). Anything to make some good memories in spite of the inevitable fear and despair.

We are all together in this, even when we feel alone. You are still living, life is still moving forward and being part of this pandemic, and separate from it, as well, all at the same time. And we will persevere. Be kind, be safe.

Monday, March 23, 2020

Caution! - TVStoreOnline Meets Harley Quinn

You all probably know by now about my love affair with TVStoreOnline. I am a huge nerd and pop culture is basically my whole life, so it's only natural that I want to dress the part. That's where TVStoreOnline comes in. They have all the fabulous clothes and costumes to feed my pop culture addiction.

Currently, I am head over heels for my new Harley Quinn cosplay pieces. Harley Quinn has always been one of my favorite characters. I've always wanted to be her. She's damaged, of course, but so am I. And she is also strong and beautiful, and crazy. I love everything about her. Especially her style. Ever since I saw Birds of Prey, and even before that, I have been drooling over her outfits.


Now, thanks to TVStoreOnline, I can have a few of her fabulous fashions for my very own. I am really excited about all of them, but my absolute favorite is the iconic Caution Tape Jacket. I also have the super cool, coordinating, Harley F---ing Quinn Shirt, also from Birds of Prey. I was tempted to get the matching shorts, for a complete look, but something else caught my eye just a bit more. And I have fat legs anyway, so I guess it worked out.



These cosplay pieces are so awesome. They are excellent quality, like everything that TVStoreOnline sells. The fit is great. I love these so much. I can't wait until I can wear them somewhere fun, like Comic Con, but right now that will obviously be awhile. I sure enjoy playing dress-up while Social Distancing, though.


So the other item that caught my eye was the gorgeous Sequin Chemise from Suicide Squad. I have been in love with that dress forever. It's so vintage.

WB1622-HarleyChemiseDress-Harley-Quinn-Sequin-Chemise-Dress-with-FringeWB1622-HarleyChemiseDress-Harley-Quinn-Sequin-Chemise-Dress-with-Fringe

I just love these pieces. They make me happy. TVStoreOnline has a lot of other great Harley Quinn pieces that I am drying to get, as well as so many other heroes, villains, movie and TV characters, bands, and much more. If you love these pieces, or anything else on the site, it's your lucky day. TVStoreOnline has been kind enough to host a giveaway. One lucky winner will get their choice of any one (in-stock) item form TVStoreOnline. Enter via the Rafflecopter below. Good luck!

*Although I received these items at no cost, to facilitate a review, all opinions are 100% my own.*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Organize Your Closet Like a Stylist

Stylists always seem to have their lives together, and part of that is because they keep their closets organized. That way they easily and with little stress choose what outfit and accessories they're going to wear every day. How does a stylist organize their closet? Read on to find out.

Image via Flickr by Aninha Miranda

A Professional Organizer's Opinion

Stacey Agin Murray, a professional organizer, says that most of us only wear 20 percent of what's in our closet. She suggests donating, selling, or throwing away anything that isn't used often, then putting every day clothes in the middle of the closet, with weekend and special occasion clothes around the edges. She recommends high-quality hangers and says to never use the wire hangers from dry-cleaners. Those can permanently damage sweaters by leaving dents. She says to leave some breathing room between hangers. Squishing your clothes together too tightly can cause them to lose their shape. Murray also says don't forget your socks and underwear. Organize them by style and color, and make sure they're easy to reach and visible.

Andrea Rapke, an organizational blogger, recommends hanging everything if you have the space. Not only will that make everything visible, but it also keeps shirts wrinkle-free. She organizes her jeans by color, from light to dark. You can also organize them by cut.

What Stylists Recommend

Personal stylist Amy Salinger recommends organizing by silhouette rather than by color. All the pants go together, then by wide-leg, boot-cut, skinny, etc. Salinger says to not store your shoes in shoe boxes. Make sure everything is visible. You can use clear storage bins for accessories, but make sure you know what's inside each bin.

Jenny Gering, the stylist for the TV show The Americans, agrees with Salinger's recommendation. She organizes clothes by style and then by color within those styles, so she can reach right for her blue turtleneck. She also protects vintage items in plastic garment bags. The older the item, the more delicate it is. There are clear garment bags, but you can use solid-colored bag with labels so you remember what's inside each one. Gering uses a muslin sheet with Velcro-ed canvas tags to hang her necklaces, which is a good space saver for small closets.

Making Your Closet Work For You

Tan France, the style expert for Netflix's "Queer Eye," uses every inch of space to its maximum potential. His closet is an odd shape, so he had to be creative. He added shelves to maximize the floor space and hanging racks for the vertical spaces. He keeps his clothing and accessories separate. He added a floor-length mirror to create the illusion that the space is larger than it really is. He can also check out his reflection right there while getting dressed!

The most important thing all stylists agree on? It's about maintaining the space. Keep it organized by putting everything away every day. A place for everything and everything in its place will keep your closet beautiful.

Thursday, March 19, 2020

Productivity from Uncertainty

We all find ourselves in the midst of uncertain times. While we adapt to the changes in our every day lives, we must try to find the good. It is important that we not let our spirit be dulled by any "missing out" mentality. Instead, we should focus on all the ways that we can benefit from the time away from work and other other social situations we would otherwise be in.

One of the best ways I can think of, besides finding ways to help others, is to complete tasks we have otherwise been putting off. For me, that is home improvement projects. It is the perfect time to organize, de-clutter, deep clean, decorate, or renovate your home.

I have a significant amount of de-cluttering and deep cleaning to do. I will be sorting through our surplus of toys, clothing, and more, thinning the herd and deciding on what we can donate. I love to donate anything we don't need. Not only does it help me keep our home less cluttered, it makes me feel a little better knowing that just maybe something we donated can help someone else, even if only slightly.

Once I finish the de-cluttering, organizing and deep cleaning, I plan to seek out other home projects to keep me busy and productive. I hate feeling aimless, even if I usually love to procrastinate, too. I am odd in that way. Anyway, some other projects I have in mind are finishing our front porch. It is "completed" already, but I feel like I could make it much better.

Specifically, I would love to fully enclose it, and add a screen. And then of course add tables, chairs and the whole lot, to make it a nice gathering area. We gather out there all the time as it is, but I would love for it to feel more cozy and inviting.

After the front porch, I would love to do something to the back porch. It is not enclosed at all, but it is set up perfectly to add a deck or something. We already have a lot of deck & dock supplies, so we wouldn't need much to begin. I think having that kind of added space in the back would really open it up and make it another nice gathering area. As it is, we don't use the back yard much, but it is quieter (since our front porch is closer to the road) and larger. Once we get it overhauled, I know it will be wonderful.



And of course, I, as we all should, will use this time to work on myself. To think of the ways I can be there for others, build my children's' character and self esteem, to teach them life skills and make memories and be grateful for all the things we have. I will use the time to appreciate my family and all the blessings we have. To be proud of the people they are and to try to be proud of the person I am. We will get through this, and we will come out stronger than ever. Take care of yourselves.

5 Reasons Why Golf Will Improve Your Health


The Great Game of Golf

If you are looking for some leisure and freedom, you might consider golf to fill the void. It is good family fun and you will appreciate the added health benefits aswell. Golf and good health tend to go together. It may surprise you to know that the game of golf will reduce your stress level and give you added serenity. There are many more health benefits that are associated with playing golf. Golf is more than a sport because it has much to offer in terms of benefits to your health and your frame of mind.

Five Reasons: Golf Leads to Improved Health

It may surprise you to discover that the average game of golf will leave you feeling invigorated and more energetic at the end of the game. If you are looking for reasons to add quality activity to your life, you will be interested in the list of health benefits that involve golf. It is safe to say, playing golf has the ability to improve your health in amazing ways. Here are five good reasons to enjoy a great game of golf:

1.  Added physical movement

The game of golf involves much physical movement. The golfer will enjoy a higher physical fitness level. Keeping your joints and muscles moving will only benefit you in the long run. The moving and swinging will add strength to your body while incorporating better overall balance. A golfer has better mobility because their muscles and joints are being used and gain more strength in the long run.

2.  Weight loss

If you are looking to shed a few pounds, count on golf to foster weight loss and get you back to a healthy weight. The physical movements will take a few pounds off the scale if you play on a regular basis. A healthy weight may reduce your visits to your doctor. A lot of people assume that golf is a low-calorie burning sport however you would be surprised to know that the continuous walking and swinging are great exercises for the core and legs and a great way to shed some extra pounds while having fun.

3.  Improved sleeping patterns

After a game of golf, addition to added physical movement and weight loss, you can expect improved sleep because your body is going to demand a regular sleep routine. After a great game of golf, expect to sleep better and feel better. According to research at Golferpros.com, physical exercise releases endorphins and these are like a cocktail or hormones in your body which lead to great sleep.

4.  Better mental health

when you are outside in nature, your mental health improves because peaceful surroundings ward off anxiety and depression. The added movement will keep your mind from drifting into unhealthy thoughts because you will need to stay focused on your game. Fresh air and green surroundings add peace and tranquility aswell.

5.  Social engagement

You are sure to meet other golfers who are going to enjoy lively conversations, friendly greetings and shared interests during a day of golf. Added social engagement will impact your mental health because new friendships keep people feeling connected and involved in life. It has been scientifically proven that interacting in group sports help people with stress and anxiety and are a great part to a balanced life since we are as humans social creatures.
These five reasons ought to convince you that golf has the ability to improve your health in many grand ways. There is more to know about playing golf and the improvements it can weave into your life.

A Clear Focus and a Game of Golf

Golf involves exercise which has proven to add benefits to you health. There is more than just physical exercise in a game of golf. Consider incorporating added concentration and focus into your life with a game of golf. Your brain will start to get into shape because playing golf requires memory skills, concentration skills and added focus. This will challenge your brain in wonderful ways. Expect to prevent mental decline as you age. Brain exercise is just as important to your health as physical exercise. Enjoy a clearer focus with a great game of golf.

Golf and a Happier Life

When you are healthier and your mental health is up to par, you will naturally enjoy a happier life. Golf is much more than a game. The great game of golf can add many happy years to your life.

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

Sending Smiles

I know that things, right now, are more bleak than they should be. People are on edge. You can't just go and visit people the way you would normally be able to. But it is still spring, the world is still beautiful, and you can still make sure that people know that you care about them and that you are thinking about them.

One very simple way is with a phone call, email, or text. But especially a call. Nowadays communication has become less personal. It's only natural, we are all busy, but if you find yourself stuck with time on your hands, pick up the phone and tell someone you miss them. Talk about nothing and everything and just enjoy their "company" on the other end of the line.

Another way is to send letters, care packages, or gifts. Especially with Easter coming up. One of my favorite things to send in the spring is a flower delivery. They are so beautiful and symbolic during this time. Especially right now, with the current "trapped" feeling many are experiencing. Having something to remind us of the beauty that still remains out in the world is very reassuring.

I love to support local businesses, so finding the best NYC florist was important to me. Plantshed's arrangements are so lovely, and their services is impeccable. The balance of sophistication and whimsy is magical. I am so in love with all of the arrangements. I want them all for myself.


Of course, gifts are not what really matters in this difficult time, or any time, really, but it is nice to send something special to let your loved ones know how much them mean to you, and to share a glimmer of beauty in a world that is a little too dim at the moment. We'll get through this, together, and we will blossom from it. We will bloom. Stay well. Take care of each other.

Thursday, March 5, 2020

New Slot Releases From NextGen Gaming

If you ever wanted to find a developer that is constantly looking forwards to the next generation of gaming titles, then look no further than the appropriately named NextGen Gaming! We have played a lot of online casino games from their catalogue and even have a few in our fave five, so words cannot describe how excited we get when we hear of something new on the horizon!

2019 has been a grand year for a lot of developers out there, NextGen Gaming — otherwise known as NYX — especially. If you are looking for a new slot to play, or are just interested to see what’s out there, then boy, have you come to the right place. Check out our list of the best new releases from NextGen Gaming below!

Pillars of Asgard

A pillar of not only the ancient city of the gods, but a sure-to-be pillar of the entire genre in our humble opinion. Pillars of Asgard is a giant of an online slot, one that plays out across 6 reels and features a whopping 1,000,000 paylines maximum! Pillars of Asgard offers anyone brave enough to spin plenty of exclusive bonuses as well as a 96% RTP percentage to-boot! If you are a fan of Zeus and everything god-like, why not take a trip above the clouds in this one.

Merlins Moneyburst

A slot that came out a little while ago, Merlins Moneyburst is a NextGen Gaming title through and through, the sort of slot that lets you conjure massive wins on a frequent basis. You get to be the sorcerers apprentice in this 5 reel by 60 payline game. Expect cartoon graphics, and even wackier features to be known in this one; don’t be a muggle, check out Merlins Moneyburst today and start earning!

Foxin Twins

The Foxin series is definitely one of the more popular franchises in the NextGen Gaming playbook, which is why they have definitely come out with this 5+5 reel by 25+25 payline slot. Hands down the best thing about this entry in the series is how it elevates every minor detail tenfold! Yes, this is a slot that you can play from mobile devices so there should be no excuses as to why you can’t spin!

Volcano Eruption Extreme

An explosive online slot to say the least, one that deals with molten lava on 5 reels and 5 paylines with an RTP percentage of 95%. Volcano Eruption Extreme is definitely pleasing on the eyes given how bright and bold the colours are here; normally you’d run away from a natural disaster like this but NextGen Gaming are clearly telling you the opposite. Ignore the hazards, check out Volcano Eruption Extreme today!

New slot games From Eyecon

It’s hard not to think of the word ‘iconic’ when playing an Eyecon online slot — in fact, many of the games in their catalogue are worthy of a hall of fame wing in the world of online slot gaming in their own right! We are always excited to see what is coming from the Eyecon camp since they are so frequent with their new releases - find out more. Eyecon is definitely in the conversation of the best right now, here are some of the best new games out in 2019:

Lucha Rumble

Hola amigos, are you prepared for one of the grandest contents the world has ever seen? Welcome to Lucha Rumble a 5 reel by 4 line game that packs all the punch of the infamous lucha libre style. It doesn’t help to play in a wrestling mask, but if you care about immersion we’d definitely recommend you don your new identity! There’s plenty of additional bonuses here on offer too, so the more you play, the better your winnings will be!

Champions of Valhalla

The viking raiders are afoot, here to take you on an adventure at high seas, you’ll battle monsters, drink ale and visit Asgard all alongside the Champions of Valhalla! Odin’s warriors get to keep all the spoils of war, so if you enjoy living a life on the road (or sea) you best tell your other half you won’t be home for tea. Free games should be considered mandatory for those spinning this one, since this feature will add boat-loads of cash to your pockets.

Crystal Lotus

A trippy slot that utilises various kaleidoscopic colours and patterns to keep you spinning for hours on end. This beautiful 10 line game is one that gives you plenty of features to play around with to find your footing. Try not to stare too much at this one as you might find yourself getting hypnotised into spending more money (not like that’s a bad thing when this slot is so good…) — Crystal Lotus is mobile compatible too so you can take it on-the-go with you!

Vlad’s Castle

Put it this way, this isn’t the sort of hotel you’d want to visit if you knew what’s good for you, but because there’s plenty of cash on the line here, you’ll still risk coming here regardless! In Vlad’s Castle you’ll catch chills in one of the most atmospheric slots that Eyecon has ever made. This is a 5 reel by 25 payline game, one that comes with a portrait prize pick feature that can multiple your scores tenfold, you can actually win up to 100x your initial bet here.

Friday, February 7, 2020

2020 Health Goals

Hello, friends. I have been getting a lot of comments, lately, on my weight loss. That is really shocking to me, and I love that it's working well enough for people to notice. I have been working on this since March of last year.

Since I have been getting a lot of "what are you doing?" I've decided I should just make an official post about it. First and foremost, the "diet" I am on is Keto. Technically, the way I am doing it would be called Dirty/Lazy Keto. What that means is that I still eat processed foods and such (as long as the carbs fit) and that I don't track almost anything or keep rigid macros.

I do, however, mostly just eat one meal a day. I don't fast specifically, like many do, but during the day, I only have one iced coffee, around 3:30pm, and then I eat dinner around 10pm. My dinner is usually a fairly large meal and will contain meat (chicken, ground turkey or ground beef, primarily) and a vegetable of some kind. And I often use cheese and/or sauce made from heavy cream.

I will usually snack after dinner, too. Something like sunflower seeds or, my favorite, cinnamon/Splenda toast on zero net carb bread from Aldi, when I can find it. That stuff is in high demand, though.

Keeping the one meal a day routine, I think, is what helps me not go too far over on calories, since I don't actually track them. If I tried to eat this way 3 times a day, with the portion size that I am accustomed to, I feel like that would be too much, and I would be unable to lose weight that way. As it is, I am already making slower progress than I would like.

I could probably up my results if I cut out the cheese and cream, and ate more veggies than seeds, etc. However, those things are the only thing keeping me sane, and the ability to satisfy myself in those ways (since I had to cut out so many other things) is how I am able to carry on. I would rather have slower results over time, then a quick fix that I can't keep to.

In the beginning, I had not "cheated" at all. Not for months. Recently I have had a few breaks, for traveling and special occasions. I always get back on track right away. I noticed that after small cheats I have actually lost a little more, on occasion, and I think it is from the "shock" to my system. It's a thing some people do, called carb cycling. My own will power, though, is not strong enough to do it all the time. I am more the "all or nothing" type.

I know that what works for me will not work for everyone, and I am not exactly a fitness influencer, but I just figured someone might benefit form my very limited knowledge. If you have any health questions for me, I would be happy to answer them.

I would love to hear all about your health and fitness goals, too. I think it is important for us all to support each other. Everything is easier with support and it's nice to have guidance from someone else who's been on the same journey. Stay healthy and happy, until next time.

Friday, January 24, 2020

(Thigh) High Fashion

Hello lovelies. I just realized that I have been writing a lot about fashion lately. Today will be no different, because I am super excited about my new fashion discovery. I am currently obsessed with Long Thigh High Socks. They are so cute. They have this "varsity" look that I am really into lately. I've been stocking up on varsity style jackets and sweaters, too - more than I will ever need in Florida.

But, back to these socks. They are so cool. They look awesome with dresses and skirts, but even with shorts. Perfect for when you want something higher than a knee-high sock, but you don't want full tights. They just add so much pizazz to an outfit.


Not only are these socks cute, comfortable, functional, and affordable, they are also made in the USA and guaranteed Fur Free. Chrissy's Knee High Socks has an animal friendly policy that shows just how much they prides themselves on high-quality, American made products, made with animal-safe, sustainable materials.

If you are looking for a fun accessory to add flair to any outfit, these long thigh high socks would be perfect. You're going to buy socks anyway, what not choose ones that pull double duty and act as a fun accessory too? And when you do buy these adorable socks, I want to see the fabulous outfits you put together. Please share in the comments. Have a beautiful day.

Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Why Dental Implants are a Great Option to Replace Missing Teeth

Dentists recommend dental implants to replace missing teeth. Some dental professionals even recommend that you get dental implants to prevent future decay and other tooth problems. However, finding a dentist you can trust to install dental implants can be more of a challenge than you might think. You may get the best dental implants in Lexington through referrals and research. Dental implants look more natural and are better than dentures and bridges if you have a missing tooth.

Here are some reasons why dental implants are a great option to replace missing teeth.

 

1. They function just like natural teeth


Dentures and bridges lack normal functioning, stability, and form that dental implants provide. The dental implant has a root and crown above the gum that looks and functions like natural teeth. The root is fixed on your jaw and anchored on the jaw by a porcelain crown to ensure that it functions just like natural teeth.

2. Versatility


Dentures and bridges can be problematic especially if they accidentally slip or slide in the mouth. With dental implants, they are crown-topped hence such accidents can be avoided. Again, you may also use the implant structure as an anchor for dentures and bridges to avoid sliding. There is much functionality of the dental implants and your dentist will recommend the best option for you.

3. Easy to maintain


Dental implants are cleaned just like you clean normal teeth. You may also floss to maintain good oral hygiene. They do not require tedious maintenance procedures like dentures which have to be removed at night for cleaning. Dentures and bridges also sometimes require overnight soaking to thoroughly clean them, and that can be a bit too involving, and most people do not appreciate that.

4. Cost-effective


Considering the consistency in functionality, and satisfaction that you get from dental implants, you will get value for your money. Proper care for the implants ensures that they last for a long time. Some people maintain dental implants for a lifetime. A professional dentist will recommend and advise you on good oral hygiene and proper care of your dental implants. To understand more about the cost-effectiveness, you may compare the cost of dentures and bridges and maintenance procedures too.

5. Helps maintain healthy gums and other teeth in place


Teeth support each other, so when there’s a missing tooth, the neighboring teeth may loosen up and slide into the gap. The alignment of your teeth becomes crooked; hence you will not maintain your beautiful smile. Dental implants also help to prevent snag, thereby ensuring there are no spaces for bacteria to breed and cause gum disease or tooth decay.


6. Jaw health and strength support


If you want to maintain a young-looking face structure, then you should ensure that your jaw remains strong. When you have a missing tooth, the jawline shrinks making your face structure change too. But with dental implants that are made of titanium, they will fuse with the jawbone to offer more support to your teeth and the facial structure too.

Maintaining good oral health has many benefits. Whether you are doing it for cosmetics, or you simply want to replace a missing tooth, seek professional advice from a Dentist In batavia. You will gain more confidence when you restore your beautiful smile.